1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need to downgrade pcre from 8.21 to 8.20

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Avensen, Feb 11, 2012.

  1. oldlock

    oldlock Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Here's the error message that presents ..

    Capture.JPG
     
  2. Worelock

    Worelock Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    you copied the text from the other site...not the code for the patch I posted.
    i removed the code/trunk/ from the file name in my code above.

    You don't need an extension for the patch either...its just a plain old text file that i created in the /var/cpanel/perl/easy/Cpanel/Easy/OptLib using the command nano pcre_patch
     
  3. eva2000

    eva2000 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Interesting dont have a problem with this on my WHM server with PHP 5.3.10 but seems i'm running PCRE version 8.12 not 8.21 with CentOS 5.7.
     
  4. Worelock

    Worelock Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    possibly because you upgraded to 5.3.10 before the pcre libraries where updated?
     
  5. oldlock

    oldlock Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for your help.

    I've copied the text exactly and the error still presents ?

    patchfile.JPG

    error1.JPG
     
  6. Worelock

    Worelock Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i did post in my first post that it might ask you what file to patch...and i typed pcre_compile.c when it did what yours did in the screenshot
     
  7. anwarx

    anwarx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    non of this methods works for me !
     
  8. scottelkin

    scottelkin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If you are following his directions, when it asks for the file, enter "pcre-8.21/pcre_compile.c"

    The patch failed when I tried to follow this advice. I just edited the pcre_compile.c file myself instead for that step.

    To do so, I just found line 1655 in /var/cpanel/perl/easy/Cpanel/Easy/OptLib/pcre-8.21/pcre_compile.c and replaced:

    case OP_ASSERTBACK:
    case OP_ASSERTBACK_NOT:
    do cc += GET(cc, 1); while (*cc == OP_ALT);
    /* Fall through */

    with:

    case OP_ASSERTBACK:
    case OP_ASSERTBACK_NOT:
    do cc += GET(cc, 1); while (*cc == OP_ALT);
    cc += _pcre_OP_lengths[*cc];
    break;
     
  9. anwarx

    anwarx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You Save My Time Dude

    thanks it worked like a charm :)

    thanks again

     
  10. Worelock

    Worelock Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    yea..my bad, should have added the pcre-8.21/ in front of the file name
    I have edited the original post.
     
  11. postcd

    postcd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    At my side i choosen rather upgrade my PHP to the higher version 5.3.8 (via easyapache) after Apache restart it worked OK.
     
  12. velo

    velo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have tried to do this patch. It did't work.
    I get an error during the build.

    -- Begin step 'Check PCRE' --
    !! Downloading '/var/cpanel/perl/easy/Cpanel/Easy/OptLib/pcre.pm.tar.gz' !!

    !! Installing or updating 'pcre', this will take a while and shouldn't have to be done again until a new version is released by the vendor. !!
    patch: **** Can't open patch file ../pcre-8.21-fixed-length-lookbehind.patch : No such file or directory
    !! Command failed in '/home/cpeasyapache/src/pcre-8.21': 'patch -p1 -i ../pcre-8.21-fixed-length-lookbehind.patch' !!
    !! Restoring original working apache !!

    I now on version pcre-6.6. How do I upgrade? or get the patch to work?

    Any ideas?
     
  13. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Active Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,621
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow

Share This Page