1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NICK help...need a fix!!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rpmws, Sep 19, 2002.

  1. rpmws

    rpmws Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    Nick,

    I love the new shared IP manager for resellers. Can yuo please add a selection for &root& accounts? My problem is since day one my main IP has been different from what we use for shared IP accounts. Long story but basically the way we made this work was we changed it in &Edit Setup&. All my shared IP accounts use that setting. No accounts are on the master IP that I don't actually own. All of them need to be on another one I have in my block. When I just created an account I noticed WHM grabbed the main one. Made a small mess ... can you make it so we can pick what IP to use for &root&? would be great man. Also when I deleted an account I noticed command called &Yes& that went for 10 minutes and whm hung after removing databases.

    Thanks in advance ...things are getting really nice man ..great work!!!
     
  2. rpmws

    rpmws Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    hey Nick ??? can you make root created accounts look at the IP listed in the wwwacc conf file like before? or put a spot in &tweak& for setting the shared IP for root accounts?
     
  3. rpmws

    rpmws Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    Nick you seen this yet man?
     
  4. rpmws

    rpmws Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    yo yo yo !!!!! Nick !!! I need you to please read my post and either help me out or reply and tell me to go to hell :)
     
  5. awsol

    awsol cPanel Test Bitch

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston MA
    Umm go to hell
     
  6. rpmws

    rpmws Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    thanks steve ... ok ..I am in hell now. all I see is tux getting it from the rear ....humm is that you over there in that thrown with fire coming out your ass? while I have your attention ..do you have any idea what controls what IP root accounts get? it used to be the www conf file. seems mine ignores that setting now.
     
  7. awsol

    awsol cPanel Test Bitch

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston MA
    Umm try editing the IP listed in edit setup WEEEEEEEE
     
  8. rpmws

    rpmws Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    that's what I am telling you boss ..my IP in edit setup is set to the correct IP ..but when I creat an account in WHM as root it ignores that IP and uses the other IP.
     
  9. awsol

    awsol cPanel Test Bitch

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston MA
    Uh HUH hmm I'm stumped. Submit a ticket foolio.
     
  10. rpmws

    rpmws Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    ok...again I will do that :) thanks so much;)
     
  11. awsol

    awsol cPanel Test Bitch

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston MA
    Yes YES I know. I wasn't a help. But guess what I could have given you wrong advice and watched your system poop out. But sometimes I feel nice. Like today =]
     
  12. rpmws

    rpmws Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    while you are at it why don't you let ole Tux up for some air? I bet his knees are killing him ..oh and BTW ..you forgot to put &or call pest control& in your new signature :)
     
  13. moronhead

    moronhead Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    {EDIT} awsol beat me to it and gave the right advice. My post no longer needed. :)
     
  14. rpmws

    rpmws Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    [quote:2f9a4d0d23][i:2f9a4d0d23]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:2f9a4d0d23]

    rpmws, stop shouting.........and relaxxxxxxxxx :)

    what does the line at the top of your /etc/wwwacct.conf says?

    ADDR ??.??.??.??

    That should be the same IP as the one in Server Setup in WHM.

    Unless you have a different version of cpanel in your box, that's about it. ;) [/quote:2f9a4d0d23]

    what??? I am about as laid back as anyone on this ..I don't give a $#@! about it really. Just havin' fun ..really not mad and didn't mean to shout. Hell i;m sorry if you took it that way.

    As you may can see from my posts above I checked the wwwacct.conf and made sure it was correct as well as the edit setup. Same upto date cpanel you guys use :)

    Do me a favor ..on a box you don't care about ... change that IP to another for me..create a new shared account and see if it uses that new IP while WHM root. Let me know.

    No it's really ok .. my resellers all get their correct IP now ..just when I sell one that things get messy. So I just created a reseller account for me and set my main nameservers to it...works fine ..just like to see the WHM NEWS and to be in as root.
     
  15. H2Hosting.com

    H2Hosting.com Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We have the same &problem& - had to change IPs manually after customer report...

    Why not to inform us before such *#&^ cpanel updates???

    :(
     
  16. jumpdomain

    jumpdomain Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Go into the directory:
    /var/cpanel/mainips

    And create a file called:
    root

    Then inside the new file called root, put the IP you want to use to setup IPless accounts created by root.
     
  17. H2Hosting.com

    H2Hosting.com Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  18. rpmws

    rpmws Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    [quote:521c052ac7][i:521c052ac7]Originally posted by jumpdomain[/i:521c052ac7]

    Go into the directory:
    /var/cpanel/mainips

    And create a file called:
    root

    Then inside the new file called root, put the IP you want to use to setup IPless accounts created by root.

    [/quote:521c052ac7]

    thank you!!!!!
     
  19. jsteel

    jsteel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    brain fried... After reading this thread, I feel like I just watched an old episode of Beavis and Butthead. Although, I'm not sure which character rpmws is and which awsol is?!?!? ;-)
    ................................................................................................................ &oops. zoned out, fell forward and my nose landed on the period key&.

    Jaz
     

Share This Page