1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

phpMyAdmin & cPanel update?

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by McTee, Mar 5, 2004.

  1. McTee

    McTee New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Can someone please tell me how to force a update for phpMyAdmin with cPanel? I updated cPanel to WHM 9.0.0 cPanel 9.0.0-R44 thru WHM today, but it didn't update phpMyAdmin. For some reason I am still using RC1, and the release is now out and i would like to update to that.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. McTee

    McTee New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    *BUMP*
     
  3. BrightAdmin

    BrightAdmin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi Mctee,

    This will update phpMyAdmin to 2.5.1 (latest version)

    chmod +x phpMyAdminUp; ./phpMyAdminUp

    Here is what is in phpMyAdminUp
    CODE

    cd /usr/local/cpanel/base/3rdparty/
    wget http://server3.rapidgrid.com/phpMyAdmin-2.5.1cpanel.tar.gz
    tar -zxf phpMyAdmin-2.5.1cpanel.tar.gz
    mv phpMyAdmin phpMyAdmin-2.4.0
    cp -r phpMyAdmin-2.5.1 phpMyAdmin
    chattr +i phpMyAdmin/*

    This as you can see will not just upgrade phpMyAdmin but it will also leave the old version on your server just in case of problems.

    Hope this will resolve your issue.

    Regards,

    Bright
    :)
     
  4. damainman

    damainman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    what version is cpanel using?
     
  5. McTee

    McTee New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well the one that got installed with Cpanel here is 2.5.1-RC1.. The newest version is 2.5.6

    So, I've followed BrightAdmin suggestion, but instead of installing 2.5.1, I installed 2.5.6 and made any changes that were needed in the config file to match what I had in the old one. Seems to be working fine. Only problem is now is it's saying that my version of php is old.. I currently have PHP 4.2.3 installed, Newest version for php is 4.3.4. Any suggestions on how one goes about updating php? :confused:

    Thanks again for your help!
     
  6. BrightAdmin

    BrightAdmin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi Mctee,

    Check at any browser about the php information using the below URL

    domainname/phpinfo.php

    If you want to upgrade the php it is better to go for 4.3.2
    the steps you have to follow are as follows:

    1.download the source. (www.php.net/downloads.asp)

    2.untar the file (tar -zxvf)

    3.cd into the php directory.

    4.make

    5.make install.

    the upgrading is over .

    restart apache.

    check it now.

    Hope this will resolve your problem.

    Regards,

    Bright :)
     
  7. Limedrink

    Limedrink New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey BrightAdmin,

    Will the phpMyAdmin and PHP upgrades ever be affected by any new upcoming version of cPanel that is upgraded through WHM? If we upgrade phpMyAdmin and PHP now, then will future cPanel updates every conflict with the upgraded versions that we have installed manually? Also, where is the folder for PHP located? I am looking to upgrade my version of PHP, but I do not know where it is located.


    Thanks,

    Limedrink.
     
    #7 Limedrink, Mar 30, 2004
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2004

Share This Page