1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plesk 10 to cPanel migration

Discussion in 'Migrate to cPanel' started by wmguk, Jan 7, 2011.

  1. wmguk

    wmguk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I have a plesk 10 service (Which is a joke now btw!) and I am moving to a new server using cPanel.

    I have tried to transfer and it moved about 10 clients, now it says

    Any ideas what has happened?
     
  2. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,835
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    We do not currently support migrating from Plesk 10 to cPanel. The reason is that Plesk 10 uses a different authentication system from previous versions, and this is not compatible with current versions of our transfer scripts.

    This is also posted in the following locations:

    Technical Advisory: Plesk Panel 10 Migrations - cPanel Inc.

    http://forums.cpanel.net/f338/technical-advisory-plesk-panel-10-migrations-182121.html

    We apologizing for this inconvenience. Our developers are studying this to determine the best way to move forward, but for now, we do not support migrations from Plesk 10 to cPanel.
     
  3. wmguk

    wmguk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    :( Ohhhhh, It worked on the first 10 clients but now it is just saying not not supported :(

    Looks like plesk 10 not only killed the plesk system, its messed everyone else up too!

    :(

    I'll have to have a look manually - its just cause I have 70 clients to move :(
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,288
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Update: Plesk 10 migrations are now supported.
     
  5. madsere

    madsere Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Can you please confirm migrations from Plesk 10.3 is still supported.

    Amazing why Parallels refuse to offer a migration method from the Plesk 10 fiasco back to Plesk 9, but I guess they'll find out the hard way.
     
  6. Eric

    Eric Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    Howdy,

    We would be happy to migrate you over. Submit a ticket with us and we will be happy to get the process started.

    Thanks!
     
  7. madsere

    madsere Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Does cpanel have migration tools built into the software or can you only migrate as a service?
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Well-Known Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,523
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Hello :)

    Yes, you can use the transfer options provided in Web Host Manager to transfer accounts from Plesk 10.3.

    Thank you.
     
  9. madsere

    madsere Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks. A slightly more complicated question: I need to transfer 500+ domains from a Plesk 10.3 server to a Cpanel server. Obviously during the transfer they will need to have different IP addresses, but once transferred I need to change the sites back to the original IP address.

    In Plesk you would either have to change the IP address one by one for each domain, or create a script to use provided CLI commands. Is there a reasonably easy way to do this in Cpanel?
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Well-Known Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,523
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    48
    The IP Migration Wizard is a useful feature for such a task:

    IP Migration Wizard

    This will allow you to update the IP addresses for the accounts with just a few clicks.

    Thank you.
     
  11. madsere

    madsere Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Excellent! Thanks!
     
  12. madsere

    madsere Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm about to put an order in for a cpanel license. They're asking me for the IP address, so I guess cpanel binds to one. How will that work in the context of my situation as explained, where we migrate to one IP address and later change it?
     
  13. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,288
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    If you acquire your license from cPanel.net/store then you can update the IP address on the license later to reflect the server's new primary publicly visible static IP address. For further details, I recommend emailing cs@cpanel.net so our customer service team can discuss your specific needs.
     
  14. madsere

    madsere Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I intended to buy the license through cpaneldirect.net - they're considerably cheaper than getting them from you and it was my impression that it didn't make any difference where the license was purchased?
     
  15. Eric

    Eric Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    Howdy,

    That will work too.

    Thanks!
     
  16. madsere

    madsere Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Great. So I guess I order the license with the temporary IP address and then change it when the IP change?

    Sorry for the flurry of questions, next time I'll know :)
     
  17. cPanelJesse

    cPanelJesse Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Houston
    Yes, you can have the IP address changed at anytime. We will also outline the entire process once you open a support ticket with the migration team. :)
     
  18. madsere

    madsere Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well I've done a ton of Ensim-Plesk and Plesk-Plesk migrations so I guess I'll get around Plesk-Cpanel too. Timing is essential so if I have to coordinate with you guys and have everything to line up time wise it probably gets a little complicated.
     
  19. cPanelJesse

    cPanelJesse Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Houston
    We actually cater to your scheduling and how you want them to be transferred (such as certain accounts, or certain times). It's a very nice service we offer and has been very affective for other customers wanting to migrate.

    We also have 24/7/365 phone support so you can call one of our migration analysts at any time.
     
  20. madsere

    madsere Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Wow, you do migrations weekends in the middle of the night? Cool. Not used to that level of service from the Russians....
     

Share This Page