1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

randhtml.cgi

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by sreevishnu, Sep 27, 2003.

  1. sreevishnu

    sreevishnu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    india
    Hi there,

    What is wrong with the randhtml.cgi. It does not produce random strings.
    I tried this.

    test.shtml
    <shtml>
    <body>
    <!--#exec cmd="/usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/randhtml.cgi misterch"-->
    </body>
    </shtml>


    .randhtml in my home

    Hi it worked!!!
    Hi good morning
    Hi how are you
    See you again....

    checked all permissions and ownerships, could not find anything wrong.


    Any idea ???

    Thanks

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. casey

    casey Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    It should be <!--#exec cmd="cgi-bin/randhtml.cgi"-->
    Are you using a control panel that is no longer updated?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. sreevishnu

    sreevishnu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    india
    Re: Re: randhtml.cgi

    Hi Casey,

    Thanks for your reply...

    I tried
    <!--#exec cmd="cgi-bin/randhtml.cgi misterch"-->
    <!--#exec cmd="cgi-sys/randhtml.cgi misterch"-->

    But no result. There are no errors logged when i try to access the page contains this SSi.

    The script randhtml.cgi is in /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/ and there is a ScriptAlias for /cgi-sys/ to the same.

    Thanks again

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. sreevishnu

    sreevishnu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    india
    Re: Re: Re: randhtml.cgi

    Hi,

    The exec cmd is disabled in the server. Can anybody give me an alternative to
    <!--#exec cmd="/usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/randhtml.cgi misterch"-->

    using some other directive.. or how to enable cmd with restrictions.

    Many Thanks

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. casey

    casey Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Use <!--#exec cmd="cgi-bin/randhtml.cgi"-->
    You don't need that misterch at the end.

    exec is disabled on the server? Is it your server, or are you an end user?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. sreevishnu

    sreevishnu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    india
    Hi Casey,

    Thank you for the response,

    I have root access on the server though i don't want to enable exec (security threats !). The script provided by Cpanel requires the username as aparameter, i have run the script at the back end it worked well when i supplied the argument otherwise nothing was outputted. I tried the method that you suggested it did not produce any output.

    Can you suggest an alternative to exec .

    Thank you very much.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. casey

    casey Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
  8. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36

Share This Page