1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server load staying high. PLZ help

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by Mystic Crunk, Oct 11, 2005.

  1. Mystic Crunk

    Mystic Crunk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,
    I am relitivly inexperianced with cpanel/whm and am having a problem. My server load has been so high lately that the mysql database constantly crashes and load time on pages is alot slower.
    I got this e-mail a few days ago.
    "IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.
    This is cPanel cpuwatch on **************!
    While processing, the cpu has been
    maxed out for more than a 6 hour period. The current load/uptime line on the server at the time of
    this email is
    07:57:12 up 7:12, 0 users, load average: 7.91, 5.53, 4.28
    You should check the server to see why the load is so high and take
    steps to lower the load. If you want stats to continue to run even with a high load; Edit
    /var/cpanel/cpanel.config and change extracpus to a number larger then 0 (run
    /usr/local/cpanel/startup afterwards to pickup the changes)."
    If anyone could provide me some help I would be very greatful, please respond here or e-mail me at mysticcrunk@charter.net

    Thank You
    Dan Crunk
     
  2. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Hello Dan,

    What are the highest processes on your server? You can use top to get that info. What kind of server hardware do you have? Are the sites on your server very busy?
     
  3. sh4ka

    sh4ka Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try to install the tool called "mytop", it may help you to find issues/overloads problems on MYSQL databases.

    Good luck.
     
  4. pshepperd

    pshepperd Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    WHM will do a screen shot of top when you ask it to look at CPU usage, I find this is more helpful than trying to use top at the command line.

    Find the process with the most usage and then determine the cause.
     
  5. Mystic Crunk

    Mystic Crunk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry about the late reply.
    The top 2 are mysql and apache.
    I have got it running at a sadisfactory speed now with help from a friend.
     

Share This Page