1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sorry, a DNS entry for xxxxx.com already exists

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by stuffradio, Dec 6, 2006.

  1. stuffradio

    stuffradio Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    WWWAcct 10.1 (c) 1997-2006 cPanel, Inc.

    Sorry, a DNS entry for xxxxx.com already exists, please delete it first (from all servers in the dns cluster)


    Reseller privs added!

    Account Creation Complete!!!


    Why does it do that? I just bought this server, logged and tried to make a user account and already gives me arrors? :(
     
  2. stuffradio

    stuffradio Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    it says,

    Attempting to locate /etc/named.confno bind configuration presentUnable to locate Bind configuration file.
     
  3. WebScHoLaR

    WebScHoLaR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Go to WHM > DNS Functions > Edit DNS Zone, and search for the xxxxx.com. If the DNS zone file exists there then you need to first check that how that domain is configured on your server.You can check that by looking into httpd.conf file. If it is not configured then you can simply delete the DNS zone file from WHM > DNS Functions > Delete DNS Zone.

    If DNS zone file doesn't appear in WHM > DNS Functions > Edit DNS Zone, then login to your server via SSH and look for the entry of domain in /etc/named.conf file and if exists remove the entry.
     
  4. stuffradio

    stuffradio Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    there are no entries in any .conf files that I could see of these domains. Suggestions?
     
  5. celliott

    celliott Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    If its a new server then you probably have not setup the server correctly.
     
  6. jayh38

    jayh38 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Remove references from these files. You should have no trouble
    creating the account afterward. I find this happens with domain name changes
    on the account in question.

    /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf
    /var/cpanel/users
    /var/named
    /etc/localdomains
    /etc/named.conf
    /etc/passwd
    /etc/shadow
    /etc/trueuserdomains
    /etc/trueuserowners
    /etc/userdomains
    /etc/vdomainaliases
    /etc/valiases
    /etc/vfilters
    /etc/vftp
    /etc/vmail
     
    #6 jayh38, Dec 6, 2006
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2007

Share This Page