1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

suPHP and eAccelerator?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by markb14391, Dec 23, 2013.

  1. markb14391

    markb14391 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    We want the security of suPHP with the performance of an opcode cache.

    We've always heard that no opcode caches work with suPHP because opcode caches cache user data and that's not consistent with the way suPHP works.

    However, I have heard that cPanel's implementation of eAccelerator just caches scripts but not user data. In that case, would it still work with suPHP?

    If so, is there any way to test and make sure it's working?

    Thanks,

    Mark
     
  2. Phincy

    Phincy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    eAccelerator won't work with SuPHP because SuPHP runs php as a child process under different users. eAccelerator needs all processes to be forked from the same parent to share a memory segment.
    You cannot use an Opcode Cache (such as eAccelerator, Xcache or APC) with suPHP. This may slow down your site little bit.

    You can try using FastCGI with suexec enabled. That won't cause security issues and allow eaccelerator.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Well-Known Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,523
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Hello :)

    It's important to note that cPanel does not recommend an FCGI configuration for your PHP handler. FCGI requires fine tuning of mod_fcgid to ensure that the server does not become overloaded with idle PHP processes. You may want to consider using DSO with Mod_Ruid2 instead of FastCGI.

    Thank you.
     
  4. markb14391

    markb14391 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi, according to CloudLinux, Mod_Ruid2 is very weak from a security standpoint. Is that not true?
     
  5. markb14391

    markb14391 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Also, Mod_Ruid2 still shows as "EXPERIMENTAL" in EasyApache. Is it production-ready?
     
  6. HSN-Saman

    HSN-Saman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'd recommend to go with DSO if you own all websites on the server otherwise SuPHP and FCGI are better options , if you necesary need Opcode cache then SuPHP is out and you can go with FCGI - don't forget that it needs lots of experience to configure it properly so that it won't overload the server , if you're not experienced enough with it ask a server manager to do it otherwise you're not going to have any stability with FCGI.
     
  7. markb14391

    markb14391 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks to all for their input.

    I'm wondering how badly we need opcode caching. We do WordPress hosting with UNIXy Varnish, and with W3 Total Cache preconfigured on every site. Given that configuration, I am wondering if opcode caching would help much at all. With those levels of caching, the vast, vast majority of page loads are cached items that shouldn't even run PHP. Does that make sense?

    I've just done some benchmarks, and there was no nominal hit when switching to suPHP in about 90 percent of cases.

    We can also install memcached (an object cache that is compatible with suPHP) to give our users one additional caching option.

    Thanks,

    Mark
     
    #7 markb14391, Dec 30, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2013

Share This Page