1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Theme Changer

Discussion in 'User Experience' started by akala, Nov 24, 2009.

  1. akala

    akala New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How do I install some sort of theme changer so my users that have cpanels with ny hosting company can switch between the x, x2, x3, et cetera themes? I know it may be a strange question, but I purchased and installed VistaPanel, and I'd like my cpanel users to be able to switch out of it themselves if they don't like it, or otherwise just want to change themes on occasion from an x3 theme, to VistaPanel.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    12,120
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    If VistaPanel does not come with a way to change back to the X3 theme, you'll need to ask them about adding one.
     
  3. akala

    akala New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah I understand that but first I need a theme changer so I can let people change TO the VistaPanel theme FROM x3. :/ That's my problem at the moment. Is there something I can install or something to let me do that?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    12,120
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    You'll still need to ask at the place you got the theme. You might try here.
    cpskins.com/support/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=37
     
  5. akala

    akala New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ...why do I need to ask a third party company about something that's related to cpanel's x3 theme? I don't care about VistaPanel at the moment. I'm asking specifically and only about the x3 theme to change it to not only VistaPanel but other themes produced by cPanel. What does that have to do with VistaPanel?
     
  6. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,558
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    The cPanel theme x3 is the latest version available; within this theme it is possible to change the look and appearance, including making x3 look like the older themes x and x2 or bluelagoon. To change the appearance of x3 this is performed by changing the theme's style, and the feature for accomplishing this task is already included in cPanel.

    The "Change Style" feature is available in cPanel at the following menu path:
    cPanel: Preferences >> Change Style
    Documentation: cPanel Preferences Change Style

    Please note that in the Change Style feature the style for x and x2 is collectively named "x" and the style for bluelagoon is named "blue_lagoon". Regarding a style for the monsoon theme, we are aware of the need and have the following related internal case ID: #34633

    Accounts and packages that use the older themes x and x2 should be migrated to x3 using the WHM control panel via the following menu path:
    WHM: Main >> Themes >> X Skin Migration Wizard
    Documentation: WHM Themes X Skin Migration Wizard
     
    #6 cPanelDon, Nov 24, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2009
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    12,120
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    The cPanel X3 theme already has a theme/style changer built in. My comment was directed to where ever you got the new theme from. If it has no theme changer built in, cPanel can't add one for you.

    Assuming you've installed the new VistaPanel theme properly, and switched to it ok, switching back to X3 might not be an option if the VistaPanel doesn't support the option.

    Make any more sense now?
     
  8. CPSkins.com

    CPSkins.com New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey Akala,

    I have looked been looking for and asking for a theme changer to be included in cpanel for years, and at this moment there is one ONLY if logged into the account as a reseller. I am just finishing up recoding all of our skins and getting the new website ready for launch in the next 1-2 weeks (just have to finish up some coding and stuff for another control panel software) and then I will see if I can come up with some sort of plugin to get this to happen just not sure if I will be able to do it.
     
  9. CPSkins.com

    CPSkins.com New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey Akala,

    Just wanted to give you a quick update that I have asked my dev team at WHMXtra to create a Theme Changer Plugin and they said they should have it ready by the weekend.
     
  10. akala

    akala New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hallelujah! Thank you so much! I was about to ask your cpskins.com about it xD -new customer on cpskins, recently purchased vistapanel, is the person that's been corresponding on behalf of SpleafNet Labs- x3
     
  11. CPSkins.com

    CPSkins.com New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey akala,

    Well my dev guys at WHMXtra have come through for me again. They have just finished the theme changer as a cpanel plugin. It is hardcoded to only switch between cpanel default skins and all skins offered at CPSkins.

    I will send you a pm with the install command so your customers can now switch on there own from X3 to Vista Panel or any of our skins. In terms of being able to switch back from Vista Panel back to x3 for example you will have to manually add a link until we re-launch our site in coming weeks and release updates to all of our cpanel skins.
     
  12. radeonpower

    radeonpower Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey, CPSkins, when is Windows7panel coming? :D
     
  13. CPSkins.com

    CPSkins.com New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That actually is planned for after the relaunch of our site :) lol Thank you for reminding me :) I want to figure out something for Mac OSX also
     

Share This Page