Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: quick question....

  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default quick question....

    Hey,

    I just wanted to ask whether its possible to install cpanel using centos in vmware fusion. I own a mac and wanted to try out the 15 day trial version of cpanel. Also if I can run it through vmware fusion, is there anything that I have to setup before I start the installation, to make it work with vmware fusion?

    Thanks a lot in advance!

  2. #2
    Registered Member aapkapratik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Yes, you can install cPanel using centos in vmware fusion !

    To get more help about installing CentOS 5.1 on VMware Fusion. Please make use of following URL

    URL:- [CentOS-virt] CentOS 5.1 guide for VMware Fusion

    To install cPanel make use of following steps :-

    1. Download the installer

    #wget -c http://layer1.cpanel.net/latest

    2. After downloading the installer, run the installer by issuing the
    command below.

    #sudo sh latest

    3. The installer will then start downloading and install the files required to
    run the cpanel software, this will take a few minutes or more so be
    patient.....
    Pr@T!K R@W@L,
    "Simple, Capable, Ready for the Future"
    http://etechsupport.net, http://esds.co.in
    ESDS Software Solution Pvt.ltd.

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default

    ok, i installed cpanel on centos in vmware fusion without any problems. I didnt get any errors. It advised to reboot after installation was finished, and so i did.

    Ok, so how do i access the cpanel WHM, to complete the setup from my normal pc?

  4. #4
    Registered Member cPanel Partner NOC Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    725
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default

    http://ip/whm

    Where IP is the IP that is running on the vmware fusion. You should be able to activate a trial license though if you are on a dynamic IP you will have problems when it changes IPs.

  5. #5
    Registered Member aapkapratik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Thank you for kind words !

    I am big Glad to be able to help you...
    Pr@T!K R@W@L,
    "Simple, Capable, Ready for the Future"
    http://etechsupport.net, http://esds.co.in
    ESDS Software Solution Pvt.ltd.

  6. #6
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eth00 View Post
    http://ip/whm

    Where IP is the IP that is running on the vmware fusion. You should be able to activate a trial license though if you are on a dynamic IP you will have problems when it changes IPs.
    Hey,

    how do i check the ip of vmware?

  7. #7
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default

    anybody???? Please help me!

  8. #8
    Registered Member cPanel Partner NOC Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    725
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default

    yum install lynx
    lynx --dump What Is My IP Address - Shows Your IP Address |grep 'Your IP Address Is:'

    That should spit out the internet IP of your machine. You can also just type "ifconfig" but that will end up being a LAN ip that you won't be able to register with cPanel.

  9. #9
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default

    when i try to run yum install lynx
    i get you need to be root to perform this command.

    So i type is ' su ' ( without '')
    and i get
    -bash: /bin/su: Permission denied

  10. #10
    Registered Member cPanel Partner NOC Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    725
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default

    Have you tried logging in directly as root?

  11. #11
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default

    ok, logged in as root and installed lynx

    now when i type in lynx --dump

    i get a lot of text with website addresses at the bottom. no ip.

    So when I type in ifconfig would inet addr be my ip address?

    inet addr shows as: 172.16.76.130

    but when i type this into my web browser in osx safari, nothing shows up.

  12. #12
    Registered Member cPanel Partner NOC Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    725
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Default

    Look at the grep I added afterwards.

    You also can just go to What Is My IP Address - Shows Your IP Address in your browser on your mac and get your internet ip that you would need to license.

  13. #13
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default

    A quick video i put together. I bit chaotic but might help to solve my problem:

    YouTube - Cpanel Installation Problem

    Its still being processed by youtube and might lack on quality for a while.

    This is basically my setup:

    I have an iMac with MAMP PRO running on it. I can host a website using MAMP. When Im installing Cpanel in vmware fusion i turn off mamp.

  14. #14
    cPanel Product Evangelist Infopro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    10,890
    cPanel/WHM Access Level

    Root Administrator

    Lightbulb

    Just for fun, install CSF on there.
    ConfigServer Security & Firewall

    Once you've read the details and configured the firewall from shell as root, then try logging into WHM at https://$IP:2087.

  15. #15
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default

    http://www.configserver.com/free/csf/install.txt

    I followed all the steps on the file above:

    Also I just realised, I need to do port forwarding, however I have the following port forwarding setup:

    Port 2082 -> Cpanel default port
    Port 2083 -> Cpanel over SSL
    Port2086 -> Cpanel Webhost Manager (default)
    Port 2087 -> Cpanel Webhost Manager (with https)
    Port 2095 -> Cpanel Webmail
    Port 2096 -> Cpanel secure webmail over SSL

    Port 80 > Apache HTTP web server/
    Port 21 > FTP/
    Port 22 > SSH (you will get lot of ssh attacks if you leave it open. change the port to something else)/
    Port 25 > SMTP (outgoing email)/
    Port 110 > POP3 (incoming email)/
    Port 53 > DNS server (if you run DNS server)

    Hope this is not a dumb question:

    When I turn on CentOS with cpanel installed on it, how do I know the server is on?
    Last edited by clukas; 07-31-2010 at 12:34 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Quick Question
    By Izkabola in forum cPanel & WHM Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-04-2006, 02:49 AM
  2. quick question
    By chirpy in forum cPanel & WHM Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-11-2006, 12:55 PM
  3. Quick IP question
    By dalton in forum cPanel & WHM Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-21-2005, 03:40 AM
  4. Quick Question
    By Steve-PWH in forum cPanel & WHM Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-05-2004, 01:33 AM
  5. A quick question...
    By Saeed in forum cPanel & WHM Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-18-2003, 01:57 AM
bargain