The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1 domain, 2 hostings [moved]

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sunsystems, Aug 5, 2006.

  1. sunsystems

    sunsystems Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Guys out there, Is it possible to have 1 domain name pointing to 2 hosting services. I want to use one only for mailing services only and the other for image storage purpose only. The 2 hostings are on 2 different types namely Linux and windows, will this create any problems for the cpanel because in the Linux hosting it will be a addon domain not the main domain. Any ideas??. :eek: :eek:
     
  2. sunsystems

    sunsystems Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Anybody out there.........

    Can somebody help me please:eek:

    1 domain (domain.com)

    hosted on windows server (DNS=NS3.xxxx.com/NS4.xxxx.com)------to be used for image hosting only----here it is added as 1st domain

    I want to point this domain to a Linux server also(DNS=NS3.yyyy.net/NS4.yyyy.net)------to be used for email purpose only-----here it will be added as addon domain.

    The DNS enteries look like this:
    NS3.xxxx.com
    NS3.yyyy.net
    NS4.xxxx.com
    NS4.yyyy.net

    Will this setup work, Any suggestions to make it work :eek:
     
    #2 sunsystems, Aug 6, 2006
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2006
  3. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    The above thing you are saying will not work.

    BTW if you wish to host your domain on one server(Windows) and wish to have emails to work from a different server(ie. Linux), you will just have to change the MX record of your domain to point to the hostname of the Linux server. For that you will have to ask your hosting company(Windows server one) to make the changes.
     
  4. sunsystems

    sunsystems Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Mr.Shekhar pl have a look..

    Mr. Shekhar pl have a look again, I have made it more clear what I want to say. See the new details. Let me have your view on this setup.
     
Loading...

Share This Page