The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

11.38 backup system falls apart consistently; multiple gtar errors and failures to back up.

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by quanin, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. quanin

    quanin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I let the new backup script run automaticly after configuring things thusly:
    Type: compressed
    Frequency: daily (every day) and monthly (1st)
    Destinations: local directory (/backup), local directory (/root/Dropbox/server - for redundancy)
    Backing up account and system files. Backing up MySQL per account and the entire directory. Retaining local backups, as well as depositing them into Dropbox. Examining the backup log, everything pretty much falls apart from step 1. Exerpt pasted below:
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: /var/lib/mysql/rsgames_ZGP/ChatLog.MYD: file changed as we read it
    /bin/gtar: /var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock: socket ignored
    /bin/gtar: /var/lib/mysql/quanin_rss: file changed as we read it
    [backup] Failed to perform full MySQL database backup

    The fun continues for system files:

    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from hard link targets
    /bin/gtar: /var/cpanel/dnsadmin/sock: socket ignored
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from hard link targets
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names

    It doesn't look like it even attempts to back up accounts, even though accounts are selected. 2013-07-18 is a very impressive 634M at the moment, with an empty accounts folder and missing several items that probably should be included. The dropbox directory contains only a system_files.tar and nothing else. This is reproduceable on the server always; I've run the backup manually with the exact same result.

    I've removed both folders and rerun the backup with again the same result, and again the folder in /backup is 634M. I was hoping to be able to use this system on account of it makes less work for me re: putting the backups from the old system in Dropbox for safe keeping. But now I'm thinking maybe not so much. Any feedback on this would be most helpful.
     
  2. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Have you enabled the "Backup Accounts" in backup setting as I can see By default, only system files are contained within backups
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Please browse to:

    "WHM Home » Backup » Backup User Selection"

    Ensure that the accounts are enabled for backup. Also, check that "Backup Accounts" is enabled under "Backup Configuration".

    Thank you.
     
  4. ThinIce

    ThinIce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Disillusioned in England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Although it's indeed worth checking the op does state.

    Might be worth opening a ticket and providing shots of the configuration interface and the full backup log...
     
  5. quanin

    quanin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So you need to enable the new backup system for each new account? A little counterintuitive, isn't it?

    Also: that doesn't do much to address the errors I get above, which are apparently preventing a proper backup of the other areas.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This indicates the file was changed during the backup process so it could not be archived. Do you receive the same message every backup generation? Is it a very active database?

    This is normal output, and does not indicate a problem with backing up data.

    Thank you.
     
  7. quanin

    quanin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Fairly active, yeah. My concern is this often occurs as well with system databases, IE: eximstats. I assume, probably incorrectly, the others can be and are copied accurately with the account backup, now that I've got that working for the most part.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can review the full backup log and check to see if the databases are backed up with the accounts. You will notice a similar error message is the account backup phase if a database is not able to backup successfully.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page