The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1st timer creating subdomains for 'customers' [moved]

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mas, Sep 14, 2006.

  1. mas

    mas Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, im sure this is silly simple but i really cant get my head round it.

    I have a reseller account with WHM and cpanel , im not a reseller i just want oonline gamibg friends to have a free website and e mail each. I do however want to move one or two hobby sites on to my 'new' webspace.

    my main directory is kfd0001 and I have a domain ( domain.org.uk) 'registered and renewed with ukreg that just points fine to my 'new' webspace.

    Problem is two fold.

    One :if i create a new user in the WHM intending to make some webspace to give to a friend it asks me for a domain.

    What do i put in , is this a subdomain ?? on my main one I.E mymate@domain.org.uk , if so do i type in mymate.domain.org.uk . If so do I have to have made the subdomain 1st in my main CPanel or does it make one for me on setting up the account with WHM.

    two: I can go in my own main cpanel I.E domain.org.uk/cpanel and create a sub domain , that works fine but if i do that then the user ( friend) i give it to can upload in to ALL my domain.org.uk webspace not just thtsa of the sub domain I.E friend.domain.org.uk.

    I think I have my undestanding fundamentally wrong somewhere and cant find any help

    cheers mas
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Been discussed on these forums before. Might be worth your time to look around a bit more on these forums.

    Basically you'd setup the main domain, domain.org.uk in WHM as you did, and then add the new users accounts as sub domains the same way, in WHM, only you'd use the sub domain just like the main domain was setup. New account could be, yurmate.domain.org.uk

    This allows that user to have his own cPanel to admin the site you give him.
     
  3. mas

    mas Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi, the resason im a bit confused probably is this. I bought the package as straight hosting package for one domain. I didnt actually set up the domian , they did when I opened the host account and my ' main domains host directory' is kfd10001 . I then upgraded the other day and they added a WHM panel.

    I do try searching the forums as i run a few myself and appreciate them BUT tbh not knowing what to put in you get hundreds of irelevant results( ive tried) so I hoped a user wouldnt mind pointing me right :)

    I will persevere but as I said , the only subdomain I have managed to set up , gives access to my whole webspace to who ever logs in thus rendering things useless so far. This is my main stumbling block i really need to get over.

    many thanks

    Mas
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You have your main domain.org.uk setup and working correct?
    And you have access to WHM and can create new accounts as well?

    If so, then creating a second account using the yurmate.domain.org.uk example I posted should work fine. In WHM. If you setup a sub domain in your own cPanel, instead of WHM, you'd have to give the user access to your main cPanel account.
    You don't want to do that.

    In other news, your host should really be the one explaining this to you. He supports you, you support your own accounts.

    HTH
     
  5. mas

    mas Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just to let you know u have left them , they dont support anything or anyone as far as I can see :)

    Cheers
     

Share This Page