The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2 CPU vs 4 CPU

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by shann, Apr 29, 2006.

  1. shann

    shann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi,

    What it means by 2CPU and 4CPU? is it logical process? Anyone can explain?
     
  2. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    CPU = core/central processing unit.

    2 CPU = 2 units, 4 CPU = 4 units.

    Now, there are discussions about whether a single chip that has two processing cores is a 1cpu or 2cpu, and they even have single chips with 4 cores, in which a core is the very basic computing structure of a microprocessor.

    don't know if that answers your question or not, as it was a bit vague.
     
  3. shann

    shann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank you, Does it mean 2 or 4 physical cpus exists on the server?
     
  4. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Like I said, that's up for discussion. The most common terms refer to physical chips, so if it says 2CPU, then it's most likely 2 single-core chips.
     
  5. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    More then likely if you look into your WHM and see 4 cpu then you might have a dual xeon system with hyperthreading enabled.
     
Loading...

Share This Page