The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

4 nameservers in WHM, are these setup correctly?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by postcd, Apr 21, 2014.

  1. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hello, this is a zone file for nameserver 1 out of 4

    during WHM setup i added 4 nameservers.

    Currently these nameservers point to old WHM server. I need to transfer cpanel accounts from old server to new server and then change IPs assigned to these nameservers in my domain registar control panel.

    zone at new server
    hBAx0.jpg

    I want to ask if i can proceed - my zone file is correct? Or what are steps to do? On new server i need only 2 nameservers, rest are not necessary, but i added them because im afraid if it will work after accounts transfer?
     
    #1 postcd, Apr 21, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2014
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    652
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The zone you provided looks okay. However, you will need to ensure you update the name server IP addresses for all four of those name servers at the domain registrar, and then update the "A" records for those four name servers on the cPanel server.

    Thank you.
     
  3. Michael-Inet

    Michael-Inet Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Austin, TX, USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ns1 in NS ns1 is probably wrong.

    Look at a working zone at /var/named/*.db for an example.


    In general:

    Create new WHM server with new nameservers.

    At the Registrar, add hostname(s) w/ IPs.
    Usually at least 3:
    server1: nn.nn.nn.nn
    ns1: nn.nn.nn.nn
    ns2: nn.nn.nn.nn

    At the Registrar, add nameservers.


    Create a test account on your old server.
    Transfer it to your new machine.
    Check if IPs/nameservers were updated correctly by the transfer process, if not, edit DNS for correct values.

    Once test account works, transfer the rest....

    Best,
    Michael

    - - - Updated - - -

    Or it helps if I'm looking at a NS record instead of a domain's... What cPanelMichael said.
     
Loading...

Share This Page