The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

403 error when installing frontpage extension

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mychoicegames, Jun 28, 2010.

  1. mychoicegames

    mychoicegames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have no knowledge around this kind of technical stuff in cpanel. My friend hosts my site and I had no idea what this feature did. So what I did was went into frontpage extensions. Then I clicked install extensions when my site was already on there. I am really stupid about this stuff and I need to know how to restore the site back before my friend comes back out of town.
     
  2. mychoicegames

    mychoicegames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anyone out there that can help me?
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Have you tried going back into your cPanel account, back to the Frontpage Extensions section and remove from there?


    What has probably gone wrong is your htaccess file got hosed. This warning pretty much says that:

    Easy way to find out, rename the .htaccess file in the public_html directory to .htaccess.bak and the try to open your webpage.
     
  4. mychoicegames

    mychoicegames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks. I got the site back and up, but whenever I click something it now gives me the 404 error.
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Well, let's say the site uses short URLs and the code to make those work is in your .htaccess file. If that file got munged the code in it no longer works. Any link on your site using short URLs might be broken then because of this.
     
  6. mychoicegames

    mychoicegames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there a way to restore that file?
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Possibly, but you'd need to download a backup, open it locally and find the file in the root of the account. If backups have run since the file was overwritten it might not be worth saving though.

    Or, if for example this was a joomla site using short URLs, you might be able to simply download joomla again from joomla.org and grab the .htaccess file from it and upload to your server.

    GL
     
  8. mychoicegames

    mychoicegames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I do have a back up from February which with all the .htaccess files I believe which one will I need to restore?
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If the website in trouble is located at yourdomain.com, then the .htaccess file you want to replace would be located in the public_html directory of the backup.

    If the website is for example installed in an addon domain, you would find the htaccess file here: /public_html/addondomainname/

    Just to be sure you've got yourself covered, do not simply overwrite the htaccess file, rename the one on the server to preserve it in case it's needed later for reference. ;)


    GL!
     
  10. mychoicegames

    mychoicegames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    For some reason I couldn't do that :( . Is there a way of starting from scratch if you reccomend that?
     
  11. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    What couldn't you do?
     
  12. mychoicegames

    mychoicegames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I thought I had the back up file, but it seems to me that I don't. I did a back up guess I overrighted the file that I needed. Is there any way to fix the site. Everything to my site appears to be a broken link. If thats what you call them.
     
  13. Miraenda

    Miraenda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Coralville, Iowa USA
    What type of a site is it? If it is WordPress or Joomla and you let us know what exact type of site, we can try to provide an example .htaccess file it might have used. Otherwise, you may want to contact the host to ask them if they have a backup with the .htaccess in it (and do it quickly before their backup doesn't have the right copy either).

    Of note, before making any changes to any account, you should always make a backup right before.
     
  14. mychoicegames

    mychoicegames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It's a magento website.
     
  15. mychoicegames

    mychoicegames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    bump because I need help.
     
  16. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    In the magento download is there a default htaccess you could pop onto the account and try?
     
  17. mychoicegames

    mychoicegames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    As far as I can see no.

    I chatted with someone who kinda knows this stuff and this is what he said

    so basically what happens is all of your links direct to things such as /playstation.html this would be find but the location of the file isnt there it is actually at index.php/playstation.html The thing is, I don't know how to fix it.
     
  18. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm not sure I understand. Can you download the full package again from their website and have a look in the main directory for a default .htaccess or an .htaccess.txt possibly?

    I don't use magento and have no account there to download it, but you do I'm assuming. With that default file you might get going again.

    Or, you might check your admin panel and try disabling short URLs.


    If this comment is accurate, it would seem to me the short URLs are working, but are configured wrong somehow.


    Either way, magento forums might be your best hope here. This doesn't seem to be a problem with your cPanel installation.

    GL!
     
Loading...

Share This Page