Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

403 errors [moved]

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by keith80, Aug 13, 2006.

  1. keith80

    keith80 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi guys,

    I have a problem where when I try to install an add on, such as Xoops or SMF, when I try to access it, I get a 403 -- Forbidden error. Why?

    Keith.

    Edit: I sent a support ticket to my host, but it's been about 2 months, never got an answer, decided to ask here.
    2nd Edit (sorry): I just backed up my site before, everything worked fine, had to backup due to accidental deletion of a crucial folder (public_html) for an attempt to install PHPWebSite in the toplevel directory. Nothing was in the /www direcotry except for stuff like vti folders and stuff like that... had to re-create my index.html file...
     
    #1 keith80, Aug 13, 2006
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2006
  2. elleryjh

    elleryjh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Sounds like the permissions or ownership on public_html may be set wrong.

    They should be set like this:
    Code:
    chown [I]YOUR_USER_NAME[/I]:nobody /home/public_html
    chmod 750 /home/[I]YOUR_USER_NAME[/I]/public_html
    
    You will have to get your host to at least set the ownership. If your host doesn't respond in 2 months (or 2 days, for that matter) it's time to find a better host.
     
  3. keith80

    keith80 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    thanks

    Ok thanks.... I just found out a couple of hours ago that the ticket never went through for some reason... can't beleive I didn't think of that... :eek: but I'm going to request for that today (ownership), thanks for the response:D
     
  4. keith80

    keith80 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Just wanted to let you know that the problem is solved.... I got a hold of my host, they told me to upload a couple of files, didn't work, tried the code, didn't work, so we ended up resetting my web site completely (good thing I was about too redo it anyway :) ), now everythings working well! Once again thanks for your help :)

    Keith :cool:
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice