The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

403 errors [moved]

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by keith80, Aug 13, 2006.

  1. keith80

    keith80 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi guys,

    I have a problem where when I try to install an add on, such as Xoops or SMF, when I try to access it, I get a 403 -- Forbidden error. Why?

    Keith.

    Edit: I sent a support ticket to my host, but it's been about 2 months, never got an answer, decided to ask here.
    2nd Edit (sorry): I just backed up my site before, everything worked fine, had to backup due to accidental deletion of a crucial folder (public_html) for an attempt to install PHPWebSite in the toplevel directory. Nothing was in the /www direcotry except for stuff like vti folders and stuff like that... had to re-create my index.html file...
     
    #1 keith80, Aug 13, 2006
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2006
  2. elleryjh

    elleryjh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sounds like the permissions or ownership on public_html may be set wrong.

    They should be set like this:
    Code:
    chown [I]YOUR_USER_NAME[/I]:nobody /home/public_html
    chmod 750 /home/[I]YOUR_USER_NAME[/I]/public_html
    
    You will have to get your host to at least set the ownership. If your host doesn't respond in 2 months (or 2 days, for that matter) it's time to find a better host.
     
  3. keith80

    keith80 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks

    Ok thanks.... I just found out a couple of hours ago that the ticket never went through for some reason... can't beleive I didn't think of that... :eek: but I'm going to request for that today (ownership), thanks for the response:D
     
  4. keith80

    keith80 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just wanted to let you know that the problem is solved.... I got a hold of my host, they told me to upload a couple of files, didn't work, tried the code, didn't work, so we ended up resetting my web site completely (good thing I was about too redo it anyway :) ), now everythings working well! Once again thanks for your help :)

    Keith :cool:
     
Loading...

Share This Page