The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

500 Internal Server Error after 15 minutes

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 5hak, Oct 6, 2010.

1. 5hak

5hak Member

I have a dedicated Apache Linux server and have suExec enabled.
    When we run a php script after 15 minutes the message appears 500 Internal Server Error. We need the script to run without a limit in order to upload our files.
    I have changed the PHP settings to unlimited but it still times out. Is there any settings that override the PHP settings.
    I removed the .htaccess to check to see if this is inteferring but same issue.
    I have set all the permissions to 0755 & 0644.
    This issue started when i upgraded to cpanel before this i was using webmin and had no issues.
    Can any one help me please i am new to this and dont have much knowledge your help will be most appreciated.

2. cPanelJared

cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Friendly moderator note

Since you posted in response to a thread that was over a year old, I moved your post to its own thread. The situation you describe is not likely related to the one discussed in the old thread.

You can use the following command to view the Apache error log while the internal server error is happening:

Code:
    # tail -f /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log
    Knowing the exact error that is generated will greatly narrow down troubleshooting, and the error will be logged. Also, if you are using suPHP as your PHP handler, you can see if the suPHP log contains any error messages using the following command:

Code:
    # tail -f /usr/local/apache/logs/suphp_log
    You can find which PHP handler you are using with the following command:

Code:
    # /usr/local/cpanel/bin/rebuild_phpconf --current