The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

500 Internal Server Error With PHP Scripts/Files

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by TorchServers, Aug 3, 2010.

1. TorchServers

TorchServers Active Member

I have 12+ years experience in enterprise level IT, but with Windows-based servers... so please bear with me.

I am trying to migrate 8 websites from one of my old CentOS 5.5 VPSs that was running ISP Manager over to my new CentOS 5.5 VPS that is running cPanel/WHM. All of the files and scripts were running fine on the retired server under ISP Manager, but are now dead on arrival on the new server.

I have all of the files moved over, the databases created and the various settings config files edited, but when I navigate to any PHP run script like WordPress I get a 500 Internal Server Error. I can navigate and use HTML files just fine, but it's the PHP files that throw up.

Some of the PHP scripts I'm running are WordPress, Simple Machines Forum, vBulletin, HostBill, Magento and a few "one off" PHP scripts like simple shopping carts and mailing lists. I also have no problem navigating and using any part of cPanel or WHM.

To initially move the files over in a quick manner I TAR'd them on the original server, and then used WGET to download them on the new server... from there I uncompressed them and CHMOD'd them based on their recommended settings. I had used this method in the past without much issue, and it was certainly faster than using FTP as I moved about 70,000 files total.

Checking the PHP settings on my server via WHM it seems to be running PHP5 with suphp as the handler, the settings can be viewed HERE. The basic PHP Configuration Editor settings can be viewed HERE... and nothing seems out of the ordinary.