The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

500 page on website but not others

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Jimbos, Jun 10, 2010.

1. Jimbos

Jimbos Registered

Hi Guys, please bear with me as I am a complete newbie with linux and whm.

I have a website that just started the 500 page and I have an identical website on the same server that is fine. This websites have been running great since I uploaded them awhile back. All the other websites on this server are also fine.

I have read through as many post as I could to find out why but just can't seem to get it.

I am running a dedicated server with php5, the largest log file I have is 280mb and found nothing in the logs about this problem. All my logs are set for rotation, the php handler is suphp, Apache suEXEC is set to on.

No file permissions were changed. Oh the backend or admin part of the website works fine just the front side get's the error.

Any help would be greatly appreciated
    Thanks

#1 Jimbos, Jun 10, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2010
  2. ChrisRHS

ChrisRHS Well-Known Member

Which logs did you look at? You should take a look at your apache logs, and your suexec logs. You state that no permissions where changed, however, if never hurts to double check! :)

3. Jimbos

Jimbos Registered

Yes I looked at the apache logs suexec logs, I will check the permissions again maybe I just missed something when I checked before.

Thanks for the reply, should I look for anything odd in the permissions?

4. ChrisRHS

ChrisRHS Well-Known Member

Yes, files can have the max permission of 644, while directories can have 755. Also make sure that all of the files within the account are owned by the correct user and group.

5. Jimbos

Jimbos Registered

Thanks Chris,