The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

511 access not allowed after apache upgrade

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by AlaskanWolf, Jun 23, 2002.

  1. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    Not sure where this goes, but theres a bug after upgrading apache, i recompiled and just cant figure it out

    when you go to http://sandy.thehideout.net/~wwwhost/ or even the ip/~whatever url.....

    you get

    511 Access Not Allowed

    http://sandy.thehideout.net/~wwwhost/

    Access Not Allowed from this Domain
    You are attempting to access a user dir from a domain that is not owned by the user. Please correct the domain that you are attempting to use to access this url.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Apache/1.3.26 Server at www.www-hosting.net Port 80
     
  2. awsol

    awsol cPanel Test Bitch

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston MA
    Seems you have the bandwidth protection module loaded.
     
  3. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    i recompiled and removed that, even went with the easy install
     
  4. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Did you remove the lines related to bandwidth protection from httpd.conf?
     
  5. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    what would it entail? not sure what im looking for
     
  6. SHSaeed

    SHSaeed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Actually, I kind of like that. It prevents users to access sites on the server from the wrong domains. For example, if your server's host name is &server3.webhost.com&, people can't access other sites by going to http://www.any-users-site.com/~account/, they have to load http://server3.webhost.com/~account/.
     
  7. myros

    myros Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Glad I found this post :)
    Any new IP-less accounts could no longer be viewed until the domain name went through. Was just giving the 511 error. Had me puzzling through the log files for hours lol.

    Thanks for the tip on accessing them.

    Gonna leave that mod in I think, seems like a good service.

    Cheers,
    Myros
     
  8. rbmatt

    rbmatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I had this problem, and I did have some bandwidth modules on, but no more than a different, working server. So, I went through httpd.conf line by line to see what was different. Finally, them main server's virtualhost servername on the &bad& box was set to localhost.localdomain. I changed it to its actual name, restarted apache, and it works now.
    Maybe this will help someone...
     
  9. twhiting9275

    twhiting9275 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Actually, BW protection is a good thing (tm). I realize that you can't get the clients setup until their domain filters through, however, this, well, it protects from users using ~/username/blah in order to lay the bw cost on you instead of them. I know, it's a cheap tactic, but people still do it.
     
  10. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38



    comment this lines on your httpd.conf

    # LoadModule bwprotect_module libexec/mod_bwprotect.so
    # AddModule mod_bwprotect.c

    Hope this helps
     
Loading...

Share This Page