The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

530 Login incorrect

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ATLien, Nov 19, 2003.

  1. ATLien

    ATLien Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am gettign this error with WS_FTP LE trying to login to a FTP that was created with cpanel. What is wrong? did I setup the FTP wrong?

     
    #1 ATLien, Nov 19, 2003
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2003
  2. ATLien

    ATLien Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    they are not that is the thing, I have tried them many times. And it just started happening with a user and pass I had used and saved. I can login using the main on, but but not any that I create with cpanel.
     
  3. tundra96

    tundra96 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    delete the account and re-create it
     
  4. HostOrion

    HostOrion Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    be sure to sync the ftp passwords also.
     
  5. nettigritty

    nettigritty Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    I am getting this error on and off also.

    If i switch to pure-ftpd it works fine. Then I switch back to Proftp and it starts working again !!

    Then a little while later, the login fails ...

    any ideas ??
     
  6. jcf

    jcf Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is a bit basic, but have you checked the user has a shell declared on /etc/shells?

    Hope I am not insulting - it once happened to me and I remembered it reading your post...

    Sorry for not being of much more help :)

    J
     
  7. nettigritty

    nettigritty Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    /etc/shells has ..

    /bin/sh
    /bin/bash
    /sbin/nologin
    /bin/bash2
    /bin/ash
    /bin/bsh
    /bin/tcsh
    /bin/csh
    /bin/ftpsh
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/jailshell

    thats it ..
     
  8. jcf

    jcf Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    OK, now check on /etc/passwd that the user having problems loging in has one of these shells (it must have), like

    user:x:500:500:username:/home/user:/sbin/nologin

    If it doesn't you either have to include the specific shell on /etc/shells or change the /etc/passwd with one already there...

    Hope it helps...

    J


     
  9. nettigritty

    nettigritty Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    hey..

    apparently more ppl have been having this problem lately since the last update ! RH9 + cpanel
     
  10. panayot

    panayot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  11. djmerlyn

    djmerlyn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm adding to this old ticket mostly for my own future reference.

    I just restored several reseller backups and had complaints that none of the FTP accounts worked, so looking in /etc/password I see they have:

    /bin/false

    I simply changed that to:

    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell

    And saved on the way out, and it fixed all the issues. I guess it bears the question, what was /bin/false doing there? But who cares, works now ;)

    Cheers!
     
Loading...

Share This Page