Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

550 The sender domain must have a valid MX record

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by asmithjr, Apr 14, 2004.

  1. asmithjr

    asmithjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    168
    I have a customer with the complaint that email sent to bellsouth email addresses will not work. I tried sending email myself (from my DSL account) and it works great. However; when I send from the server I get the
    "550 The sender domain must have a valid MX record"

    I went to dnsreport http://dnsreport.com/tools/dnsreport.ch?domain=ptsaemail.com. I see a couple of warnings but nothing obvious.

    The domain is ptsaemail.com and they are sending email from a mailling list.

    Actually sending from a subdomain on the server.

    Anyone have any ideas?

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #1 asmithjr, Apr 14, 2004
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2004
  2. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. asmithjr

    asmithjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    168
    mail -v asmithjr@bellsouth.net
    Subject: test
    hello
    al
    .
    Cc:
    LOG: MAIN
    <= root@host.ptsaemail.com U=root P=local S=324
    root@host [/home/ptsae/PHP]# Connecting to mx01.mail.bellsouth.net [205.152.59.33]
    :25 ... connected
    SMTP<< 220 mail.bellsouth.net ESMTP server (InterMail vM.5.01.06.08 201-253-122-
    130-108-20031117) ready Wed, 14 Apr 2004 18:02:27 -0400
    SMTP>> EHLO host.ptsaemail.com
    SMTP<< 250-imf13aec.mail.bellsouth.net
    250-HELP
    250-PIPELINING
    250-DSN
    250-8BITMIME
    250 SIZE 26214400
    SMTP>> MAIL FROM:<root@host.ptsaemail.com> SIZE=1358
    SMTP>> RCPT TO:<asmithjr@bellsouth.net>
    SMTP>> DATA
    SMTP<< 550 The sender domain must have a valid MX record.
    SMTP<< 503 Bad sequence of commands (specify MAIL first)
    SMTP<< 503 No sender specified
    SMTP>> QUIT
    LOG: MAIN
    ** asmithjr@bellsouth.net R=lookuphost T=remote_smtp: SMTP error from remote mai
    ler after MAIL FROM:<root@host.ptsaemail.com> SIZE=1358: host mx01.mail.bellsouth.
    net [205.152.59.33]: 550 The sender domain must have a valid MX record.
    LOG: MAIN
    <= <> R=1BDsSh-0007Q8-VP U=mailnull P=local S=1330
    LOG: MAIN
    Completed
    Connecting to heretohostdns.com [69.41.238.250]:25 ... connected
    SMTP<< 220-host.heretohostdns.com ESMTP Exim 4.24 #1 Wed, 14 Apr 2004 18:02:21 -
    0400
    220-We do not authorize the use of this system to transport unsolicited,
    220 and/or bulk e-mail.
    SMTP>> EHLO host.ptsaemail.com
    SMTP<< 250-host.heretohostdns.com Hello host.ptsaemail.com [69.93.167.154]
    250-SIZE 52428800
    250-PIPELINING
    250-AUTH PLAIN LOGIN
    250-STARTTLS
    250 HELP
    SMTP>> STARTTLS
    SMTP<< 220 TLS go ahead
    SMTP>> EHLO host.ptsaemail.com
    SMTP<< 250-host.heretohostdns.com Hello host.ptsaemail.com [69.93.167.154]
    250-SIZE 52428800
    250-PIPELINING
    250-AUTH PLAIN LOGIN
    250 HELP
    SMTP>> MAIL FROM:<> SIZE=2388
    SMTP>> RCPT TO:<albert@heretohostdns.com>
    SMTP>> DATA
    SMTP<< 250 OK
    SMTP<< 250 Accepted
    SMTP<< 354 Enter message, ending with "." on a line by itself
    SMTP>> writing message and terminating "."
    SMTP<< 250 OK id=1BDsSb-0004rq-Ik
    SMTP>> QUIT
    LOG: MAIN
    => albert@heretohostdns.com <root@host.ptsaemail.com> R=lookuphost T=remote_smtp
    H=heretohostdns.com [69.41.238.250] X=TLSv1:DES-CBC3-SHA:168
    LOG: MAIN
    Completed
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #3 asmithjr, Apr 14, 2004
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2004
  4. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Looks like host.ptsaemail.com has a MX entry missing.

    Whats the output for

    dig MX host.ptsaemail.com
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. asmithjr

    asmithjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    168
    <<>> DiG 9.2.2 <<>> MX host.ptsaemail.com
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 9477
    ;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 1

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;host.ptsaemail.com. IN MX

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    host.ptsaemail.com. 14400 IN MX 0 host.ptsaemail.com.

    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    host.ptsaemail.com. 14400 IN NS ns3.heretohost.com.
    host.ptsaemail.com. 14400 IN NS ns4.heretohost.com.

    ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    host.ptsaemail.com. 14400 IN A 69.93.167.154

    ;; Query time: 0 msec
    ;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
    ;; WHEN: Fri Apr 16 14:01:56 2004
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 115
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #5 asmithjr, Apr 14, 2004
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2004
  6. asmithjr

    asmithjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    168
    not sure this was the real thing but here is what I did to fix this.

    i checked the file /etc/sysconfig/network on this machine and it did not have a line for GATEWAY and my working machine did so I removed the line then restarted network using /etc/rc.d/init.d/network restart

    Well, it worked for me.

    I tried all other solutions including changing the cname to A and none worked but this.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. myce

    myce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    306
    I have had this exact same problem since 4/14/04. Prior to that, my daily server alerts from root@server.mydomain.com were being delivered without errors to my ISP pop@bellsouth.net, but suddenly, they started failing with the "550 The sender domain must have a valid MX record." error message. Since I made no changes, I'm assuming something corrupted or deleted my MX record for the root user. When I ran "Rebuild/Fix Mail Dbs/Boxes" in WHM, I got errors fixed on all domains, but it didn't solve the problem! I'm assuming this must have had something to do with a stable tree update, but I'd welcome any other thoughts if anyone has any on this perplexing problem.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    myce did you try what asmithjr mentioned ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. myce

    myce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    306
    To tell you the truth, I'm not sure what asmithjr did.
    Does this mean /etc/sysconfig/network should or should not have a GATEWAY line? Mine does, and he said his working machine did, but he also said he removed it (even though it wasn't there!) from [I assume] the non-working machine?!?

    I didn't delete the GATEWAY line and restart because I wasn't sure how to interpret this post (no offense, asmithjr) or what this was supposed to do to resolve the missing MX record issue.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Did u try to contact bellsouth on this ? I asked asmithjr to do the same.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. myce

    myce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    306
    No, I haven't contacted bellsouth.net because I figure that they are using some sort of anti-spam filter to verify the sender's MX, and my server's email flunked the test! However, I notified my server host, and they told me that they added the MX because it was missing (duh!), but they have no explanation of why the MX was missing. I think I mentioned that this was working fine before 4/14, so something definitely happened on that date to cause this error (and other email db errors too). But, what?! Normally, my server and email are very stable and secure, so I don't have a clue myself, other than maybe the stable tree update or an Exim glitch.

    Do you think this could be a problem at bellsouth.net?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #11 myce, Apr 18, 2004
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2004
  12. asmithjr

    asmithjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    168
    I did contact Bellsouth on mine, and have not gotten a word back,

    Both of my servers can now send mail to the bellsouth accounts.
    I tried everything (even though this just started happening all of a sudden.) When I removed the GATEWAY line in the /etc/sysconfig/GATEWAY line it started working. I di dtry rebiulding the DNS record,MX record and just about everything els I could find people with 550 errors had done and non worked.

    Here is another twist.
    NETWORKING=yes
    HOSTNAME=host.heretohostdns.com
    GATEWAY=69.41.238.249

    is now in my network file and I booted the machine and all is working.
    I wish I knew if Bellsouth did anythinng!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. myce

    myce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    306
    Albert, it looks like your GATEWAY line is still there, but you said "When I removed the GATEWAY line ...it started working". Did you remove it or leave it there? My /etc/sysconfig/network file looks like this:

    NETWORKING=yes
    HOSTNAME=server1.mydomain.com
    GATEWAY="66.98.654.123"
    GATEWAYDEV="eth0"
    FORWARD_IPV4="yes"

    Are you saying I SHOULD remove the GATEWAY="66.98.654.123" line or not? Thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. myce

    myce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    306
    As a matter of update, my email to bellsouth.net is now working with the addition of the MX record for root@server1.mydomain.com. It took about 12 hours for the MX record's propagation to complete. I did not change /etc/sysconfig/network at all, so I don't see the need for this step on my server. From what I can determine, bellsouth.net is tightening their anti-spam filters, but I'm still not sure what clobbered my MX record and email dbs on 4/14! :rolleyes:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. asmithjr

    asmithjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    168
    I would not change the network file. I did and it started working yet I put it back then booted the machine and everything started working agin.

    Who knows?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    well glad its working for you guys now :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice