The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

7.2 and 7.1 Same quota problems always negative and wrong

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jayglate, Nov 9, 2001.

  1. jayglate

    jayglate Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    7.2 and 7.1 Same quota problems always negative and wrong.

    System specifics
    2.4.14 kernel

    7.1 running ext2
    7.2 running ext3

    I reinstalled darkorb quotas both versions and even compiled custom quota versions, and still no go with quotas working on these systems.

    Does anyone have a working 7.1/7.2 with quotas?

    Jason
     
  2. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    i noticed this too

    Burst upgraded my kernel to 2.4.12, quotas still didnt work, so i removed all the exisitng quotas, initquotas,

    noticed interchange kept dieing, looked at the error.log and said disk quota exceed,

    users still have -XX.XX so i removed that from their panel so we can stop getting stuff about it, but they can now upload

    So how can it be when DarkOrb or burst tells us to upgrade and it will be fixed, as far back as June 2001, you guys had problems with quotas, how can it suddenly be Red Hats fault???

    Changes for 06/15-18/01
    pedquota fixups for redhat 7.1 (thanks go to Simon Weller for a quickfix with pedquota)
    new initquotas script
    quotas in WHM should be ok now as well
     
  3. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    quotas are still not working, new acct created, disk quota exceeded

    so we turned off quotas perm.
     
  4. fghfghgfhfgh

    fghfghgfhfgh Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    And why then on RedHat 6.2 QUOTA WORKS??
     
  5. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Quotas do not always work under 6.2. Last night we set up two accounts on different boxes and immediately had the disk quota exceeded message. We wound up removing them and readding them (since they were new) and everything was fine. It was a bit disturbing to them to have a new account set up only to be told they had exceeded their quota without uploading a single file....
     
  6. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    [quote:dfe8a28b02]Quotas do not always work under 6.2. Last night we set up two accounts on different boxes and immediately had the disk quota exceeded message. We wound up removing them and readding them (since they were new) and everything was fine. It was a bit disturbing to them to have a new account set up only to be told they had exceeded their quota without uploading a single file.... [/quote:dfe8a28b02]

    Now you know how everyone else on 7.1 and 7.2 feel :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page