The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8 copies of php.ini Which one is used

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ctbhost, Dec 14, 2004.

  1. ctbhost

    ctbhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i did a locate php.ini and found 8 differnty php.ini files in differing locations - why is this so and which one(s) do i configure

    and why is there so many copies ?? :confused:
    /home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/php-4.3.9/pear/tests/php.ini
    /home/cpphpbuild/php-4.3.8/pear/tests/php.ini
    /home/cpzendinstall/ZendOptimizer-2.5.3-linux-glibc21-i386/zui_files/php.ini
    /usr/lib/php.ini
    /usr/local/lib/php.ini
    /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/etc/php.ini
    /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/lib/php.ini
    /usr/local/Zend/etc/php.ini
     
  2. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    Several of them are linked together. The /usr/lib/php.ini and the one under Zend are the main two used for web pages. The Cpanel php.inis are what Cpanel uses for its internal functions.
     
  3. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    And to add, these:

    /home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/php-4.3.9/pear/tests/php.ini
    /home/cpphpbuild/php-4.3.8/pear/tests/php.ini
    /home/cpzendinstall/ZendOptimizer-2.5.3-linux-glibc21-i386/zui_files/php.ini

    Are used druing the build process of each of the pruducts above.

    cpapachebuild is used to store files for building apache and php.

    cpphpbuild is used to build php for cpanel / whm itself

    cpzendinstall is used, yep you guessed it for zend installation. These can be removed, however removeing the first 1 mabye 2, might cause you problems if loading a previous easyapache build. I really wouldn't worry about it to much, they're small text files.
     
  4. ctbhost

    ctbhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    no probs they can stay there i was just wonderig whitch one to configure some of my custom settings seem to have changed

    thanks all
     
  5. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    One of the following will give you the currently active php.ini for regular web page serving:
    php -i | grep php.ini

    Or place the following in a blank php document on a web accessable page:
    <? phpinfo(); ?>

    And it will show you the location near the top.
     
  6. t9clkclnr

    t9clkclnr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern California
    follow-up question

    I noticed that using a blank phpinfo page shows the following location of the php.ini:

    /usr/local/lib/php.ini

    yet, when I use phpmyAdmin to produce this information from WHM it shows the php.ini file in the following location:

    /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/etc/php.ini

    Each phpinfo.php page I use for each client under their respective domain shows the first php.ini location. Yet WHM (phpmyadmin) shows the second.

    Am i safe to assume that the first php.ini mentioned above works for each of the clients. Is the second php file used in any way for serving of web pages.

    t9clkclnr
     
  7. t9clkclnr

    t9clkclnr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern California
  8. fusioncroc

    fusioncroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    U.K.
    t9clkclnr the first link is your php build form the sites , phpmyadmin ( and all stuff in cpanel / whm ) use a seperate installation /scripts/makecpphp should upgrade that
     
  9. t9clkclnr

    t9clkclnr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern California
    Danka.... update worked.

    thanks fusioncroc

    update got both upto speed.
     
Loading...

Share This Page