The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A few questions (Subdomain & Updates)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Rbeaudoin, Jan 21, 2008.

  1. Rbeaudoin

    Rbeaudoin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello everyone,

    I have a few small questions regarding cPanel.

    First off, when I used to purchase hosting, I could always access my mail and cpanel through a subdomain such as:

    http://cpanel.example.com

    and

    http://webmail.example.com

    Now that I have my own server though, I can't figure out how to activate that feature on my client's domains. Any Help?

    ========================

    Also, I was wondering how I can make sure I have disabled automatic updates..

    I finally have the server working great and I don't want a simple update to ruin everything.

    Thanks,
    Raymond
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What you mention seem like customizations to our software. However example.com/cpanel and example.com/webmail should work by default.

    To ensure you have disabled automatic updates, go to WHM -> Server Configuration -> Update Config and set everything to Never and then when you're ready to update, switch to Manual. This will prevent accidental updates from occurring.
     
  3. Rbeaudoin

    Rbeaudoin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you

    Thank you very much for all your help and sorry for my late reply.

    If it is not too much to ask can you inquire as to which modification that is which creates the subdomains such as cpanel.example.com?

    Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you in the near future. :cool:
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel/WHM natively supports the use of subdomains for the creation of separate cPanel accounts. Note, this would be different than creating an account using a domain then creating a subdomain under that account. Going via WHM ensures the subdomain is on its own account.
     
  5. vchavez

    vchavez Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    #6 cPanelDavidG, Jun 2, 2008
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2008
  7. vchavez

    vchavez Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So if I understand this function will be available in the future ?
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It is available to those using cPanel 11.23 or later.
     
  9. vchavez

    vchavez Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Im using Cpanel latest version how can I activate it ?
     
  10. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As long as you're not on STABLE, you can go to WHM -> Server Configuration -> Tweak Settings -> Domains and check "Add proxy VirtualHost to httpd.conf to automatically redirect unconfigured cpanel, webmail, webdisk and whm subdomains to the correct port (requires mod_rewrite and mod_proxy)." Then click save at the bottom of the page.

    If you check this and it still doesn't work as intended, ensure you have mod_proxy enabled. You can do this by going to EasyApache (WHM -> Software -> Apache Update) and proceeding to step 5, then clicking on "Exhaustive Options List" and ensuring "Proxy" is checked. If not, check it and proceed with the build process.
     
  11. vchavez

    vchavez Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry but what you mean with "not on STABLE", this is the version Im using:

    WHM 11.23.0 cPanel 11.23.3-R25068
    CENTOS Enterprise 4.6 i686 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0
     
  12. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That means you are on our RELEASE branch, not STABLE. We have 4 builds of cPanel at any time: EDGE, CURRENT, RELEASE (the default) and STABLE. Updates propagate from EDGE to CURRENT then to RELEASE and eventually to STABLE.
     
  13. vchavez

    vchavez Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It's working thanks for the help!
     
Loading...

Share This Page