The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A general question for the cPanel forum community...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by TogaDave, Feb 11, 2005.

1. TogaDave

TogaDave Well-Known Member

I've been using this forum for about 2 years now, and I mostly just search and read existing posts to learn more, and I occasionally ask for help here. The reason I don't really contribute back by trying to help answer other people's questions is that I feel a bit under-qualified, and even when I think I know the answer to someone else's problem, I'm afraid to answer in case I am wrong. I'm afraid I'll give them the wrong advice, and I'd hate to mess up someone's hosting for them. I'm always grateful for the information I receive here, but I feel a little "guilty" that I'm not giving back as much as I get from this forum.

So my question is - do you more experienced / more frequent posters get irritated by those of us who seem to only ask questions and never seem to contribute much? Or are there only certain types of posts that bother you? I'm just curious to know...
    Dave

2. PWSowner

PWSowner Well-Known Member

It doesn't bother me if someone asks questions and doesn't answer any. My first several months here I was only asking questions. I started answering some when I saw ones I knew the answer to and as time went on, (too fast BTW ;) ), my knowledge increased and I was able to help with more answering, but I still ask questions now and then.

As far as what bothers me here, it's:

- questions asked that have been asked 100 times before
    Sometimes the question is something that they will have no idea what to search for, but sometimes just searching the main words in their question will give them the answer.

- very basic questions by end users that their host should have told them