The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

a little help for a noob

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ziG, Sep 22, 2003.

  1. ziG

    ziG Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Hey, i just recently purchased a dedicated server. I'm really new to WHM, and I was having trouble setting up my server's DNS Zone's and Hostname. I think I'm passed that now (although I am still unsure), BUT i've created two DNS zone's of ns1.mydomain.com and ns2.mydomain.com on two seperate IP adresses.

    I am now wondering about resellers. I've created one account on WHM, called mydomain.com, and I've made it a reseller in which it has no limitations and access to everything. (since it will be the main reseller, my reseller) I am now wondering how to add accounts under this account, and once these accounts are added, would they be using the same DNS as I?

    Any information on this would be helpful.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. dadman

    dadman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kansas
    DNS is the same!

    All through your server if the DNS is ns1.XYZ.com and ns2.XYZ.com that is the same host that any domain on the server will need to be pointed too to resolve properly.

    Make sure that you set up the DNS with the company you purchased your domain name through as well or it will never resolve! You will need to add the IP's to the domain name for the DNS servers.

    dadman

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. ziG

    ziG Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    ok, well how would I add another domain under my reseller account? through WHM?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. dadman

    dadman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kansas
    Via addon domains!

    From Cpanel, addon domains is one way, not sure if there is another way for the reseller to access WHM without root privs.

    dadman

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. dadman

    dadman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kansas
    There is a seperate WHM for re-sellers!

    Use the same url for your WHM but they use their username password to access the reseller center.

    dadman

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. ziG

    ziG Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    ok, and then I would just go to Create Account?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page