The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

a lot of spamd running

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jameshsi, Aug 6, 2004.

  1. jameshsi

    jameshsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi!
    I found a lot of "/usr/bin/spamd -d " process running on one of my server, I check other servers, they don't have so many spamd process, why ?

    Also, when I found this problem, I try to kill all these process or try to stop spamd and the restart it, but I don't know how, all I know is reboot the server, I know I may not need to do this, but please someone tell me if next time I found this situation what command should I use.
     
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    to kill:
    ==============
    pstree -ap | grep spamd OR
    ps ax | grep spamd
    ==============

    you will see a list of spamd with their pid. Use:
    ==============
    kill -9 pid1 pid2 ...
    ==============
    where pid1, pid2 .. etc are the respective pid's.

    to retstart.. u need to restart exim.
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Well, you really should just kill them off without finding our why they're there. You also don't have to go through all that hassle to get rid of them, usually a simple:

    /etc/init.d/exim restart
    will suffice. If you want to bulk kill them,

    killall spamd

    would usually be enough.
     
  4. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    :) i suggested the other way; because there has been situations wherein the spamd spawns a zoombie or an orphan that isnt killed by the normal killall.

    but the pstree just puts all of them on light.
     
  5. jameshsi

    jameshsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ya, I remeber yesterday, I fire "killall spamd" , and spamd still there, about 100 processes there.

    I really don't understand why it got so many.
     
  6. jameshsi

    jameshsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Today, I found a lot of spamd again, and I try the way Chirpy said, it worked!

    /etc/init.d/exim restart

    And the spamd now is only 1 process.
     
  7. silversurfer

    silversurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I am having this problem as well. At one point, I would have like 200 processes of spamd and restarting exim spikes the load to 50+

    What's wrong with spamd?
     
  8. jameshsi

    jameshsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't know, I need that answer too.
     
  9. clarocque

    clarocque Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ?

    Anyone know why spamd is multiplying processes????

    Should I not be using it?
     
  10. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    SA3 is a bit different, it's going to spawn child processes....Is it using up a lot of CPU?
     
  11. clarocque

    clarocque Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    .

    No - it does not seem to be using CPU, I am not sure it is even the problem....

    I have 6 spamd's running and they seem to be the highest memory users...

    Prior to reboot I was using aaprox 971MB (1GB total) of memory and 265MB of swap...

    After reboot - (approx. 1AM) I was using aaprox 215MB of memory and 0k of swap...

    Now 2+ hours later, (I believe backup has run but looks done) I am using aaprox 773MB of memory and 0k of swap...

    It is actually still climbing....
     
Loading...

Share This Page