The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A Record routing www traffic to cPanel Shared IP

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by triomatt, Jul 20, 2009.

  1. triomatt

    triomatt Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a client who has their DNS with Network Solutions. I have added an A Record pointing to my Cpanel Shared IP address and judging from a ping, http traffic is being routed. However, it looks like cPanel does not know where to route the http traffic and I just get a blank page? I want to route traffic to /public_html/clients/clientname_com directory but can't figure it out. Am I missing something that I need to do?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Did you create a cPanel account on the server for this domain that is pointing to you? Or are you using an Addon Domain or Parked Domain? If you're attempting something else, please elaborate.
     
  3. triomatt

    triomatt Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The domain is registered at and using Network Solutions DNS. I added an A Record there pointing to the 'shared ip' listed on my cPanel, where the site files are located. Traffic appears to be routing to the shared IP but since the site files are in a sub directory, I assumed there was a way in cPanel to route the subsequent traffic. The domain in question is not my primary domain and I assumed I would add it as an add-on domain but since the DNS doesn't point to me, it won't work.

    If I try to setup the domain as an AddOn or Parked domain, I get an error:

    Error from park wrapper: Using nameservers with the following IPs: 205.178.144.48,205.178.190.48 Sorry, the domain is already pointed to an IP address that does not appear to use DNS servers associated with this server. Please transfer the domain to this servers nameservers or have your administrator add one of its nameservers to /etc/ips.remotedns and make the proper A entries on that remote nameserver.

    Any ideas?
     
  4. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It sounds to me that you have 3 separate issues going on here:

    1. The DNS servers on the domain you are trying to add is not setup to
    use your server's DNS servers but instead uses a 3rd party DNS service
    apparently at the registrar. This is okay but adds a whole lot more
    complexity and work for you that you would not otherwise have to deal
    with if the domain was just setup to use your own DNS servers.

    2. You apparently have your "Tweak Settings" in WHM configured to require
    domains to be setup with your server's own DNS servers before allowing
    new domains to be added to your server. In this case, you did not
    change the DNS servers on the domain to your servers but instead
    you added a DNS record using the current DNS service for the domain
    which does not meet the requirements of your current server
    configuration in WHM's "Tweak Settings" so your server simply
    rejected setting up the domain name. This is your main primary
    problem and you will either need to update the domain to use your
    server's own DNS servers or you will need to go into "Tweak Settings"
    and re-configure your server to allow the adding of domains that are
    not using your server's DNS servers and then you will be able to add
    the domain to your server as a parked domain, add-on domain, or
    full web hosting account.


    3. It is clear you don't have a strong understanding of how your server
    works or DNS configurations which may complicate things for you.

    To reconfigure your server to allow the domain with DNS hosted elsewhere:

    Login to WHM and open "Tweak Setting" and make sure the following is checked:

    Code:
    Allow Creation of Parked/Addon Domains that resolve to other servers (i.e. domain transfers) [This can be a major security problem. If you must have it enabled, be sure to not allow users to park common internet domains.]
    
    You will also want to check the following setting as well:
    Code:
    Prevent users from parking/adding on common internet domains. (i.e. hotmail.com, aol.com)
    Now instead of doing the above, you could just simply change the
    authorative DNS servers on the domain you are trying to add at the
    registrar to use your server's own DNS servers (preferred).

    Once you do either of these, you'll be able to setup the domain on your server.
     
  5. triomatt

    triomatt Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Thanks for the reply. I do not have a 'strong understanding' of how WHM or the server are configured because:

    A: I am am not an SE
    B: I do not have access to WHM, only my hosting provider. They were not very descriptive of why this would not work so I decided to dig myself. Looks like they are being conscientious of security issues you mention.

    The client is using services at NetSol that require the usage of NetSol DNS service so I'll nee to proceed in another way.
     
Loading...

Share This Page