Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

a site using FrontPage is showing the wrong page

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by PWSowner, Sep 6, 2004.

  1. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    A client of mine is using front page and something doesn't seem to be working correctly. When going to the website with no page specified, the index.htm which exists is not showing. A different page that I can't find is showing. Going directly to the index.htm page gives a 404, but the page exists.

    The URL is http://www.ktmmillwrighting.com. Go to either
    http://www.ktmmillwrighting.com or
    http://ktmmillwrighting.com
    and it shows a "page under construction" page. That page doesn't even exist in her account. The page info says the URL is http://ktmmillwrighting.com/default/ and there is no default folder in her account.

    In the public_html folder is a file called index.htm, but if we go to http://ktmmillwrighting.com/index.htm we get the 404.

    I personally don't use front page so know little about it. Please tell me what's wrong here.
    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. mikelc

    mikelc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Dont know if this is any help but frontpage lets u set a home page, right click the page in the folder list and then click "Set as home page". You also do have an index.html which is ok, dont know if that is causing confusion.
     
  3. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Is the DNS report correct? Those the correct nameservers etc... It kinda seems the domain is hosted elsewhere, as that is not even a cPanel server from what I can see.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Thanks again DG.

    I never even thought about checking the obvious. :eek:

    She signed up for hosting with me a couple weeks ago and I gave her instructions on how to change her nameservers and I guess I just assumed they were changed by now. Her domain is still pointing to her old host.

    Problem solved :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice