The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

a small splinter

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sniperscope, Apr 30, 2011.

  1. sniperscope

    sniperscope Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    osaka/ japan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi all
    First of all, i am sorry about title because i couldn't find right description of my problem/question.

    Let's start... I have 3 server machines for now and 6 ip address. My router settings will be done on monday and 99% i am going to buy cPanel at same day.
    Okay, let's say i assigned 2 ip addresses for each pc (3pc x 2 ip = 6) But i will have only one homepage which my customers purchase hosting plan.
    My question is how can i assign them to different computers. What i mean is, when you purchase a hosting from (say: hostgator or hostmonster) you soon recieve a mail that tells you change NS to ns1.hostsomething.com ns2.hostsomething.com
    So, at same time cPanel create a folder with registered name in exactly same server.

    I have 3 pc, 6 ips, one homepage for purchase and 3 cpanels.

    This is like a splinter in my mind. I really appreciate who help me to clear it.

    Regards
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I apologize; however, I don't understand the question. Are you asking how do you setup private nameservers on the machines, or asking how multiple sites are able to share the same IP address and still show different sites under Apache?
     
  3. sniperscope

    sniperscope Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    osaka/ japan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Dear cPanelTristan
    Thank you for your response and sorry about bad explanation. Let me i try to explain with a sample.
    When you visit http://www.hostgator.com you will see different plans in that site.
    You click the purchase button some hosting plan and soon you will receive a mail which include detail of your account, your login page, your ftp details...etc.
    But hostgator has thousands of server machines and thousands of ip address and ns address. How the system create space for you in that thousands of server machines. (How that payment system decided in which server you will be in)

    Let's say i have 3 machines
    Machine - A has 117.120.30.161 - 117.120.30.162 (Machine - A for Share Hostings)
    Machine - B has 117.120.30.163 - 117.120.30.164 (Machine - B for Share Hostings)
    Machine - C has 117.120.30.165 - 117.120.30.166 (Machine - C for Reseller)

    But i have only ONE homepage and only ONE payment system.

    So, you visit my homepage and purchased Share Hosting plan. How can i assign you to Machine - A and Create space for you automatically.

    And Another customer purchase another Share Hosting plan. And How can i assign that customer to Machine - B and create space for him.

    Hope this time i could make clear my self.
     
    #3 sniperscope, May 1, 2011
    Last edited: May 1, 2011
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    not really a cpanel question
    but a billing software question you need to ask your billing software vender

    WHMCS will set up automatically to a server of your choosing
     
  5. sniperscope

    sniperscope Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    osaka/ japan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Dear dalem
    Thank you for your answer. So you mean if i don't have such a software then i can not automate it.
     
  6. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    nope not unless you get billing software or create your own
     
  7. sniperscope

    sniperscope Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    osaka/ japan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    So could you give some hint how billing software work with domain registration and payment gateway for credit cards and domain automation.

    I am system engineer for years and i always worked front side of domains as you guess i have no any clue how domain systems works.
    So far i bought 10 server machines but i am going to use 3 of them for starting and i have static IP addresses. Let's say i assigned 2 IP address to each PC.
    So, which path do i have to follow until my system up and work like hostgator, hostmonster or any other hosting company.
    I know i have to register with a Registar company for selling domain names.
    I know i have to register payment gateway for accepting Credit cards
    (Just) I know i have to buy billing software (WHMCS or similar) (I guess i have to buy one license and just setting up my other PC via it.)
    And I know i have to buy domain Control Panel (cPanel, Webmin... etc.) (I guess i have to buy (in my case 3 PC) 3 licenses for each PC)

    But i do not know sequence of them.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - small splinter
  1. albatroz
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    281

Share This Page