The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

a way to test cpanel and/or email passwords for complexity in a script?

Discussion in 'Security' started by florenceit, Mar 2, 2012.

1. florenceit

florenceit Member

Hi

is there any way to do this? lately ive been experiencing a lot of hacked passwords and recently turned on password complexity for the server.

I am hoping there is some way I can test all passwords for cpanel and/or email for complexity requirements so I can work with the largest offenders first.

from my reading i see there is a api call but im not a programmer.

does anyone have anything like this?

thank you!!

2. Brian

Brian Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel, email, and most 3rd party script passwords are stored as an md5 hash. Given its one-way encryption, there's no way you would be able to (reasonably) determine what someone's password is to then determine its complexity.

You can, however, force your users to set passwords of a specified complexity when they're setting/changing them.

Please read: Configure Security Policies

It sounds like you've already done this, though.

Once the passwords are set, you're out of luck for determining their strength score. So, you may need to at least initially force all of your users to reset their passwords to be assured of their compliance with your chosen minimum complexity.

For non-WHM/cPanel/email logins (3rd party scripts), you'd be left up to whatever solutions that 3rd party script provides (or writing your own solution).

3. florenceit

florenceit Member