Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

A wget error, I can't even install WHM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fearmydesign, Mar 5, 2011.

  1. fearmydesign

    fearmydesign Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    [ SOLVED ] A wget error, I can't even install WHM

    Hi everyone, I have been trying to find the answer to this issue for a couple of hours now... New server, I am trying to install WHM using the following command;

    wget layer1.cpanel.net/latest;sh latest

    but it spits out the following error;

    Resolving layer1.cpanel.net... failed: Temporary failure in name resolution.
    wget: unable to resolve host address `layer1.cpanel.net'
    sh: latest: No such file or directory


    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

    I thought it may have something to do with my nameservers so I executed the following command;

    nano resolv.conf

    and it says server1.ileansolutions.co at the top, nothing else, is this correct?

    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

    then I found this command which I thought could tell me something; cat /etc/hosts
    ...and this is what I get

    # Do not remove the following line, or various programs
    # that require network functionality will fail.
    127.0.0.1 server1.ileansolutions.co server1 localhost.localdomain localhost
    ::1 localhost6.localdomain6 localhost6


    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

    Any ideas what could be going on? I just need to install WHM/Cpanel :confused:

    Thank you
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #1 fearmydesign, Mar 5, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2011
  2. ravindradhainwa

    ravindradhainwa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Hi Rod,

    I suggest you to edit your resolv.conf and change the resolvers to "nameserver 8.8.8.8".
     
  3. fearmydesign

    fearmydesign Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Hello Ravindra, thank you, it worked!! ...but I have a question, should I replace nameserver 8.8.8.8 with the actual server IP Address? or what is the function of putting nameserver 8.8.8.8

    Thank you
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. fearmydesign

    fearmydesign Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Ok, I got it!! this is the primary DNS and the secondary DNS (8.8.8.8. & 8.8.4.4.)... now I remember, I accidentally deleted these two when I first installed CentOS.

    Thank you for your help
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice