The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A wget error, I can't even install WHM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fearmydesign, Mar 5, 2011.

  1. fearmydesign

    fearmydesign Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    [ SOLVED ] A wget error, I can't even install WHM

    Hi everyone, I have been trying to find the answer to this issue for a couple of hours now... New server, I am trying to install WHM using the following command;

    wget layer1.cpanel.net/latest;sh latest

    but it spits out the following error;

    Resolving layer1.cpanel.net... failed: Temporary failure in name resolution.
    wget: unable to resolve host address `layer1.cpanel.net'
    sh: latest: No such file or directory


    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

    I thought it may have something to do with my nameservers so I executed the following command;

    nano resolv.conf

    and it says server1.ileansolutions.co at the top, nothing else, is this correct?

    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

    then I found this command which I thought could tell me something; cat /etc/hosts
    ...and this is what I get

    # Do not remove the following line, or various programs
    # that require network functionality will fail.
    127.0.0.1 server1.ileansolutions.co server1 localhost.localdomain localhost
    ::1 localhost6.localdomain6 localhost6


    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

    Any ideas what could be going on? I just need to install WHM/Cpanel :confused:

    Thank you
     
    #1 fearmydesign, Mar 5, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2011
  2. ravindradhainwa

    ravindradhainwa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi Rod,

    I suggest you to edit your resolv.conf and change the resolvers to "nameserver 8.8.8.8".
     
  3. fearmydesign

    fearmydesign Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello Ravindra, thank you, it worked!! ...but I have a question, should I replace nameserver 8.8.8.8 with the actual server IP Address? or what is the function of putting nameserver 8.8.8.8

    Thank you
     
  4. fearmydesign

    fearmydesign Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok, I got it!! this is the primary DNS and the secondary DNS (8.8.8.8. & 8.8.4.4.)... now I remember, I accidentally deleted these two when I first installed CentOS.

    Thank you for your help
     
Loading...

Share This Page