The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

About changing servers.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cdrake, Mar 13, 2005.

  1. cdrake

    cdrake Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am about to switch from surpasshosting to theplanet.

    I am going to get whm/cpanel on my server at theplanet. How reliable is the build in system to move files from one server to another?

    If it fails does it damadge any files on the server its copying from? Which is the best transfer option to use inside the whm?

    Thanks

    Carey D.
     
  2. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The server to server whm transfers (root) are pretty good, but a little slow.

    Only thing I would usually do (if using whm transfers) is transfer the sub.domain.com accounts over first (where the accounts were created using whm, rather than the sub domains created by cpanel), then copy the rest afterwards. The reason for that is that sub.domain.com whm accounts can't be created, if the account domain.com exists, as cpanel usually creates the subdomains onto the domain.com account if it gets to it first. I hope that wasn't too confusing. :p

    Not sure if the users horde settings or mail lists etc get copied now or not, you should check those.

    You can copy the horde database and mailing lists if they get lost during the transfer.

    Just copy

    /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman

    /var/lib/mysql/horde

    To the new server

    # rsync -avz -e ssh /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman root@newserver.domain.com:/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/

    # rsync -avz -e ssh /var/lib/mysql/horde root@newserver.domain.com:/var/lib/mysql/


    or make a dump of the horde db
    # mysqldump --add-drop-table horde > horde.sql

    and import that into the new server

    # mysql horde < horde.sql
     
    #2 DigitalN, Mar 13, 2005
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2005
  3. cdrake

    cdrake Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there a chance to lose data on either server during transfer?
     
  4. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You shouldn't 'lose' data by using the transfer option on either server.

    You may get data loss due to propagation during the switch of iP's unless you take steps to prevent that, meaning on dynamic sites that use db's etc, you may have some data updated on the old server, during the changeover , propagation period. Well actually the data won't be lost, it just could be inconsistent.

    You can lower the TTL's on the domains dns zone entries, and update the IP's with the new ones once the accounts are transferred. Many ways to achieve what you want.

    You can either shut down forums or place them in maintenance mode or connect to the database on the new server.
     
Loading...

Share This Page