The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

about SSH tunnel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by minghuinet, Mar 21, 2010.

  1. minghuinet

    minghuinet Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My hosting‘s control panel is cPanel , the Shell access is not enabled for normal user , but the SSH tunnel service is enable . a lot of people from china use the SSH tunnel for socks5 proxy .

    This is very harmful to server .so i want the cPanel to close the SSH tunnel proxy .thanks .:mad:


    For example ,you can use myentunnel and byethost’s demo account as socks5 proxy .

    byethost's demo account:

    ip address: <<IP Redacted>>
    username:demobye
    password:password
    port : 27015
     
    #1 minghuinet, Mar 21, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 25, 2010
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel/WHM does not install any services that run on port 27015.
     
    #2 cPanelDavidG, Mar 23, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2010
  3. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Moderators / Administators ---

    I'd recommend censoring the posted login details above. Even if those details are already fully public elsewhere, still don't think it is probably a good idea to endorse exploit by providing the information here as well.

    To the original poster ---

    I know of no Cpanel process operating on that port so I would be inclined to think something 3rd party has been added after the fact.
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have redacted the IP since it is not pertinent to this discussion.

    To the original poster, this would be an issue you need to discuss with that hosting provider. It appears they have installed additional software on their server to accommodate such traffic.
     
Loading...

Share This Page