Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

acces phpmyadmin asking username and password

Discussion in 'Database Discussion' started by gamgam, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. gamgam

    gamgam Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    usually if i acces phpmyadmin from cpanel, it always directly to phpmyadmin page, but suddenly if i acces phpmyadmin it asking username and password ..

    how to fix it, i just want to like usually..

    please advise.

    thx before
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,516
    Likes Received:
    425
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The easiest answer is to clear your cache, close all browsers and then give it another try from the start. Also be sure you're not logging into a normal cPanel account as root or reseller.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelDavidN

    cPanelDavidN Integration Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If that doesn't work, then it's likely your account's MySQL password has gotten out of sync with your cPanel account password. Under normal circumstances those passwords are the same, however, the way that phpMyAdmin was loaded in previous versions (cPanel versions before 11.28) it would ensure that the password was synced before loading the application. In 11.28 we removed that auto-syncing functionality and added the login form. In this way, if you're MySQL password is different for a reason, we don't overwrite it, and you can still log into phpMyAdmin.

    If you can put your cPanel username and password into the phpMyAdmin login form and successfully authenticate, then the problem is most certainly just cache related, as InfoPro suggests. This will be the case most of the time.

    Regards,
    -DavidN

    Reference Notes
    - CHANGLOG: Case 43447
    - Release Notes: Changed to phpMyAdmin Authentication
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. bsasninja

    bsasninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    But its a way to avoid this or every time you log to phpmyadmin will ask you the username/password?

    I could log in typing the database username and password.
     
  5. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,835
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If the cPanel user password and MySQL password are not the same, you can try resetting the account password using Main >> Account Functions >> Password Modification. This function will attempt to reset the cPanel user password for the system and MySQL. This should result in the system password and MySQL password again being in sync, preventing the phpMyAdmin log-in page.

    If you are able to log into phpMyAdmin using the existing cPanel username and password, then clearing the browser cache should help. If it does not, please submit a ticket so that we may investigate the problem directly on your server and offer more specific advice.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've never set a different password for MySQL than for my (own personal) cPanel account, and even after the upgrade to 11.28 on what used to be known as the RELEASE tree, I could always automatically go to PHPMyAdmin from within cPanel. With last night's upgrade to 11.28.87 this is changed.

    My cPanel username and password are not working in the PHPMyAdmin login form.

    EDIT: And as for the annoying "stock suggestion" of clearing your browser cache... #1, I have cache disabled in my main browser, and #2 I also tried logging in from a browser I have never accessed cPanel from. Same login problem.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #6 MaraBlue, Mar 22, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2011
  7. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    And yes, I'm logged in as the user, not root.

    EDIT: Changing the cPanel password, then changing it back, worked. Of course by now I've forgotten why I was trying to login to PHPMyAdmin in the first place...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #7 MaraBlue, Mar 22, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2011
  8. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    843
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Can I ask - under what circumstance would the user's mysql password be different from the cpanel password? I'm not aware of any option they may have of changing it.
     
  9. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,565
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This used to be a manual operation performed by a system admin. Typically this was/is for users who use their main cPanel account for the MySQL access credentials when configuring something like wordpress. Making the passwords distinct prevented an exploit in something like wordpress from giving the perp access to the cPanel account.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. ckh

    ckh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I used WHM's transfer to transfer 2 sites and ran into the phpMyAdmin login problem. Changing the cPanel password worked for both.

    However... I'm also receiving the login form when I try to access phpMyAdmin from WHM. Tried changing the root password and that didn't do it. How would I go about getting rid of the login form from WHM?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello ckh,

    Could you try running the following script to see the results:

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/updatephpmyadmin --force
    If this does not work, please see if you can even get into MySQL command line:

    Code:
    mysql
    mysqladmin proc
    If both return an error about root@localhost, please post the error message. This would indicate an issue with MySQL functioning properly for the root user to connect with the /root/.my.cnf password set (please do not change the root password manually in the /root/.my.cnf file at any time, since this does not change it in MySQL itself).

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. ckh

    ckh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Odd, I had already ran that and it didn't have any affect. Tried it today and it all seems well now. Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice