The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Access a Cpanel server thru windows network?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by listenmirndt, Jun 23, 2007.

  1. listenmirndt

    listenmirndt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi guys, I am running a dedicated Cpanel server. I would like to access it thru my windows network, I know samba can do this.. but havnt tried it with Cpanel, anyone have any reccommendations?

    -Arron
     
  2. bpat1434

    bpat1434 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Columbia, MD
    The latest cPanel 11 has the WebDrive which may or may not work.
     
  3. listenmirndt

    listenmirndt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Interesting, where is WebDrive accessed or configured?

    Thanks,
     
  4. bpat1434

    bpat1434 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Columbia, MD
    I don't know of any way to configure it. But in the "Files" section of cPanel you will see "Web Disk" and can download or see how to configure the operating system to use it.
     
  5. ericgregory

    ericgregory Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The option you're looking for will be in cPanel (not the WHM end of things) and it's WebDisk. It's i the "Files" menu. It's very easy to setup and when done it makes your /home/username/ directory act as if it's a locally mounted drive. Very easy and you just drag & drop what you need to.

    I've been using it on my server for a while now and it's quite nice.
     
  6. listenmirndt

    listenmirndt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I see. Thanks for the replies guys.

    However - I got this running & it seems to be just a FTP client. I can't edit files directly like I would via network,

    Am I missing somthing or is that the limit of this features functionality?

    -Arron
     
Loading...

Share This Page