The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Access and nameservers

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by andyroo123, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. andyroo123

    andyroo123 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey guys,

    There are a few things weird that have been happening with my server. I am new to having setting up cpanel from the start and my server has been up about a week now.

    So, a few things that's wrong or bugging me:

    Firstly, sometimes my nameserver goes down and I have to log into ssh and use the command /usr/sbin/named - named to get it running again.


    Another thing that is up with my server, is that sometimes I can't log into cpanel at all, says that my password is wrong and it won't let me login, I then change computer, from like my PC(is where it doesn't work sometimes) to my laptop an it will work fine (both are on same ip, so not ip banned, also tried cleaning cookings/cache etc that didn't help either).

    So anyone got any suggestions for these two issues?
    I'm pretty new around here, so be nice.

    Cheers,
    Andy.

    PS if this is in the wrong area, please move it, thanks<3
     
    #1 andyroo123, Oct 12, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2011
  2. NixTree

    NixTree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gods Own Country
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Andy,

    1. In your WHM >> Service manager , enable monitoring for named and it will auto-restart named when it goes down. You can check /var/log/messages to get the exact reason, why named is going down frequently.

    2. Have you enabled cphulkd on your server? If so, disable it and use CSF instead which will also help you to prevent brute-force attack.

    Thank you,
    Nibin.
     
  3. andyroo123

    andyroo123 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks Nibin,

    I contacted cpanel soon after I made this forum post and they sorted it out for me, well, the nameservers side of it.

    With the logging in issue, I think I get blocked when I try and configure my email client (thunderbird) and it tries the password, I then get blocked for about 30mins.
    Any suggests on where to stop this?

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  4. NixTree

    NixTree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gods Own Country
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Andy,

    That depends on where you are blocked exactly. If you are blacklisted in "cPhulkd", empty the cphulkd database and whitelist your IP ( if you have a static Ip ) in the cphulkd database from WHM. If it is blocked in firewall ( CSF / APF ), whitelist your IP in the respective firewall ( if CSF, you can do it from WHM ).

    If you feel the login issue isn't related to the IP block, please monitor cpanel logs and it will give you a better insight about the error.

    Thank you,
    Nibin.
     
  5. andyroo123

    andyroo123 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Nibin,

    Can you use wildcards on cPhulk? And what format? (IE 255.255.255.*) ?

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  6. NixTree

    NixTree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gods Own Country
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Andy,

    Yes, you can specify an IP block using CIDR value...for eg: to block entire 111.*.*.*, use 111.0.0.0/8

    Thank you,
    Nibin.
     
Loading...

Share This Page