The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Access WHM as reseller

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by carlosow, Feb 7, 2012.

  1. carlosow

    carlosow Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ello, I'm starting in the system WHM / cpanel just hire him and all goes well at the moment.

    My only question is: if the domain of my whm is www.empresa.com what should I do to access this domain like a resseller? Should I perhaps create an account with the same domain resseller the whm? or should I get another domain example www.otraempresa.com resseller and create an account with this new domain?

    In other words, how to configure my lead domain?

    I hope letting me understand.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You should first ensure the hostname of your server is not the same as a domain name you plan to configure. Instead, it should be something such as:

    "server.domain.com"

    You can update your hostname via "WHM >> Networking Setup >> Change Hostname". Then, you can create an account for your domain name via "WHM >> Account Functions >> Create a New Account". This will allow you to access cPanel for the account.

    Thank you.
     
  3. carlosow

    carlosow Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for your quick response.
    Now, I should create the account as "resseller account"?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You only need to make the account a reseller if you want it have it's own WHM login separate from "root", and have accounts underneath it. This is documented at:

    Resellers

    If it's your own account, and you just plan to use it for hosting a domain name, there is no need to make the account a reseller.

    Thank you.
     
  5. carlosow

    carlosow Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What we need is domain.com, serving a small hosting company. But right now domain.com not have access to cpanel or ftp as root.
    my hostanme is: server.domain.com
     
Loading...

Share This Page