The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Access WHM via xxx.domainname:2086

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fdnven, Nov 29, 2013.

  1. fdnven

    fdnven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    Has something changed? All of a sudden I am unable to access my servers via:
    ServerName.domainname:2086

    I had 4 servers running using the above format to access WHM. Now browser is unable to find the address :confused:.
    Running latest stable version.

    Thanks
    Frank
     
  2. ravi9

    ravi9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Are you able to login using:
    • server-IP/whm
    • server-IP:2086
    • server-IP:2087
     
  3. fdnven

    fdnven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes the IP option works perfect.
     
  4. ravi9

    ravi9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    1) In WHM make sure you have properly set A record for Hostname.

    2) Ping your server hostname from your computer. See if you are getting reply from your server IP.

    3) Are you using any third party DNS service like cloudFlare??
     
  5. fdnven

    fdnven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    1. Yes
    2. "ping request cannot find host"
    3. No
     
  6. ravi9

    ravi9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Looks like your server hostname is not properly resolving.
     
  7. iserversupport

    iserversupport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Add an A Entry for Your Hostname from whm


    Home »DNS Functions »Add an A Entry for Your Hostname

    If the DNS is manged remotely add an A record for hostname from remote DNS
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Is it just port 2086 that fails, or is the hostname itself failing to resolve? Check to see if the issue is isolated to your own machine, or if others are also unable to access the hostname. It could be an issue with your DNS cache if it's isolated to your computer:

    cPanel - Clear DNS Cache

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page