The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Accessing cpanel behind a corporate firewall

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by optrex, Nov 24, 2008.

  1. optrex

    optrex Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am running cPanel 11.24.0-C30789 - WHM 11.24.0 and can access everything I need OK, but I have another user behind a corporate firewall who cannot access cpanel, whm or webmail.

    I have the setting in tweak settings: Automatically create cpanel, webmail, webdisk and whm proxy subdomain DNS entries for new accounts. When this is initially enabled it will add appropriate proxy subdomain DNS entries to all existing accounts. (Use /scripts/proxydomains to reconfigure the DNS entries manually) ticked.

    When they use cpanel.domain.com and follow the link to access from behind a corporate firewall, they get redirected to the default cpanel placeholder page.

    What do I need to change so that they get to cpanel properly?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If the account was present on the server before selecting this setting, try running
    Code:
    /scripts/proxydomains add --user=[COLOR="Red"]username[/COLOR]
    Replace username with that user's username.
     
  3. optrex

    optrex Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi David,

    The account was created after selecting the setting. Their DNS entries show subdomains for cpanel.domain.com but it just goes to the default placeholder page rather than the cpanel admin section.
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In that case, I recommend having our technical analysts take a look at your server to determine the cause of this issue so they can assist with corrective action.
     
  5. optrex

    optrex Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    OK,

    Many thanks for your assistance
     
  6. JawadArshad

    JawadArshad Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I had a similar problem, I just unchecked the option "Add proxy VirtualHost to httpd.conf to automatically redirect unconfigured cpanel, webmail, webdisk and whm subdomains to the correct port (requires mod_rewrite and mod_proxy)" in tweak settings, saved the settings, then again checked the option. This fixed the issue. I noticed the apache aliases being created for cpanel., whm. etc in httpd.conf afterwards.
     
Loading...

Share This Page