The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Accessing Cpanel from behind a firewall stopped working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by crazyfish, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. crazyfish

    crazyfish Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    As of last week we were able to access our VPS' cpanel from behind the corporate firewall but not the page that allows you to select whether or not you are behind a firewall doesn't appear we just get an error because it is trying to acces the site at mydomain.com:2083 the same thing for webmail is happening.

    Any ideas as to why this would just stop working?
     
  2. hzJayJ

    hzJayJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hello,

    Try accessing cPanel and webmail after setting exceptions for cPanel ports on firewall rules.
     
  3. crazyfish

    crazyfish Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey,

    I don't control the firewall, if I did I would have opened it up. Unless you mean something else?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You might try another browser just to be sure there are no problems there. Including from another location to see if you get the same result. If yes, you could double check your redirect settings in Tweak Settings area of WHM.
     
  5. crazyfish

    crazyfish Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just tried it from home and it does the same thing, but of course it loads the login page, but I still don't see the page asking me if I am behind a firewall or not.

    Which redirection settings should I be looking at?

    These are checked off:
    1) Add proxy VirtualHost to httpd.conf to automatically redirect...
    2) Automatically create cpanel, webmail, webdisk and whm proxy subdomain...
    3) Allow users to create cpanel, webmail, webdisk and whm subdomains...

    I tried removing the checks then re-adding them. This was working as of last week and nothing has changed on my work system.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There is a section titled Redirection on that page, none of the items you've posted are in that section.
    I'm just guessing as to the problem, you don't mention what URL you're trying to start with. Assuming you're using domain.com/cpanel or domain.com/webmail, the settings in the Redirection section might be worth checking.


    HTH
     
  7. crazyfish

    crazyfish Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Have you tried other combinations of those settings?

    Untick the top box in your pic where it says to always redirect user TO the ssl ports and give that a go.
     
Loading...

Share This Page