The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Accessing my CPanel from work?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Phree, Nov 17, 2005.

  1. Phree

    Phree Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South Coast of England
    Hi all,

    new to the forums - but not so new to CPanel so new noob questions concerning it - as such.

    I have a problem! I can access my CPanel just fine at home, but at work it appears they have restricted access...When I try to go to it, I receive this error:

    Code:
    Error Code: 502 Proxy Error. The host server is unreachable. (10065) 
    Date: 18/11/2005 05:06:57 
    Server: myworkserver.thatican't.publish
    Source: proxy 
    :mad:

    I'm guessing they've put a stop to it, but is there another way I can reach it from the office? I can access my actual domain at work no problem via my web browser, I can check my web-mail, just not get to CPanel...

    Thanks to anyone!
     
  2. DeepakW

    DeepakW Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Check your Firewall

    Hello Phree,


    Check the antivirus and firewall configured on your system. It seems to be blocking the
    port 2083 which is required for cpanel. Disable the firewall/antivirus and check it.
     
    #2 DeepakW, Nov 18, 2005
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2005
  3. Phree

    Phree Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South Coast of England
    Hi Deepak,

    heh heh, I wish I could do as you suggest...I think my Tech Support & Sys Admins might be a little cross with me if I did that :eek:

    I thought it was something like that - just needed confirmation. I think I'll have to forget about accessing it at work..

    Thanks for the reply :)
     
  4. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I installed this some time ago for users of mine who were unable to access WHM, cPanel and webmail through the appropriate ports.

    Seems to work a treat.
     
  6. cjmwebdesigns

    cjmwebdesigns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    When installing this, as I was reading the instructions today, is it neccesasry to install it in subdomains webmail and WHM?

    I mean if I offer it as cpanel.domain.tld or webmail.domain.tld, shouldn't that be enough or does all that have to be done in order to make it work?

    Thanks,
     
  7. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    you only need to install what you need access for


    EG: if you only need access to cPanel thin just install for that leave webmail & whm out
     
  8. cjmwebdesigns

    cjmwebdesigns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hey Dalem,

    I was trying to re-post but my computer has just begun giving me problems! Not sure why, but, whatever, I guess that is my next challenge of the day.

    As I was sitting here waiting for my cpanel backups to download so I could burn them to disk, I realized just what this program was going to do and why it was called cpanel / whm / webmail.

    I just ready really fast and initially thought it was only for mail!

    Whoops.... :(
     
Loading...

Share This Page