The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Account copy, move everything but home folder?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Karabaja, Jun 8, 2009.

  1. Karabaja

    Karabaja Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When I need to change hosting one of the accounts that is just over 50Gb can be a problem to transfer. If I initiate multiple account copy from WHM it is gonna take few hours depending on a transfer speed but in any case it is gonna take too long. As my internet connection breaks up every now and then for ISP to renew the ip. If everything is not done by then it can create problems.

    Anyway I was hoping there was a way to transfer everything but home folder. Like to move mysql, email stuff etc. So that new account can be successfully restored on new server.
    Then I can rsyn home folder and even if my connection breaks I'll just continue when I reconnect.
    And it would probably be faster then compressing everything then breaking it into parts and transferring them as whm does.

    Any help would be much appreciated.
     
  2. txspaderz

    txspaderz Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Try using the following:

    /scripts/pkgacct --skiphomedir <username>
     
  3. Karabaja

    Karabaja Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks a lot.
    I imagine that does the same as create full account backup from cPanel just without the homedir ?
     
  4. chinmay

    chinmay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    localhost
    yes, it does create the full account backup in the cpmove format without/excluding the home diretcory.
     
  5. Karabaja

    Karabaja Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Great, thanks guys. It is gonna come in handy next time I need to move.
     
Loading...

Share This Page