The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Account creation Error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Bobhy, Feb 5, 2011.

  1. Bobhy

    Bobhy Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,
    When I create an account in WHM, I have made sure that I did not check Dedicated IP, but the account is assigned an IP that is nothing to do with my Server.
    Can I stop this?
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please check the following areas to ensure the IP isn't set there in them:

    WHM > Basic cPanel & WHM Setup
    WHM > Edit Zone Templates, then select each of the template files such as standardvirtualftp

    Also, is the IP that is getting assigned showing up as an IP available in WHM > Show IP Address Usage area?

    Thanks.
     
  3. Bobhy

    Bobhy Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I corrected the IP in Basic cPanel & WHM Setup. But I still don't know why any accounts I add are assigned that IP so I cannot visit any sites through their domains without adding /~username.
     
  4. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Are you mentioning that you are not able to access the domains using IP/~username?
     
  5. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    Check the package you are using while creating the new accounts and see if that package is meant to assign a dedicated IP for everydomain. WHM > "Basic cPanel & WHM Setup" corrects the file /etc/wwwacct.conf file but still check it manually and see if correct IP is present in there.
     
Loading...

Share This Page