account creation status: failed missing host config line in /etc/wwwacct.conf

jjchristophe

Registered
Apr 3, 2015
France
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
This is my first time to use cPanel as administrator. I understood at some point that, in order to create databases, I previously had to create a new account.
When I did so, I received the following message:

account creation status: failed missing host config line in /etc/wwwacct.conf, please reconfigure with edit setup.

I am under Windows 7 and I don't have access to this file.
I went through various threads but none are really helpful. It seems one way is to edit the file, which I should be able to do through ssh. But I am pretty sure I should not need to do that.
The guide for account creation does not really list the prequesite. I guessed by myself that I had to set a package, but this did not solve the issue.
I also found that I may have to set the new user's home directory (in Basic cPanel & WHM setup) to /home, but it's already the case.
I also fond that I may have to change the Hostname, but it's currently set to our cPanel domain and I don't want to mess it up with whatever unrelated name, especially that I am not sure of the possible consequences.
I am very confused about what is the best solution to solve this issue and would be very thankful to have some advices.

Edit:

I ssh to the server, and I can't find /etc/wwacct.conf...
/etc/wwacct.conf does not appear anywhere...

Last edited:

cPanelKenneth

cPanel Development
Staff member
Apr 7, 2006
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
One way to resolve the problem is to SSH to your server, with root privileges. Modify /etc/wwwacct.conf directly by adding:

HOST srv1.example.com

to the top of the file. Replace srv1.example.com with the actual hostname of the server. The hostname is a unique name that identifies your server. It can contain your domain name.

jjchristophe

Registered
Apr 3, 2015
France
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator