Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Account Level Filter - Text Document?

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by Jewdebega, Dec 28, 2015.

  1. Jewdebega

    Jewdebega Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Is there a way to create and use some sort of text file or other file type to manage account/user level filters than the cpanel built-in filter list? Essentially, I want to be able to easily manage (sort, remove duplicates, etc.) a list of blocked domains. I'm on my tenth or so "blacklist" because they become a little unruly after a while and start kicking me out when I try and add three or more domains at a time. It seems to me it would just be easier to manage a file I could upload when updated that the system could use, but I'm not sure if that is an option or not.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Jewdebega

    Jewdebega Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi Michael -

    I found a filters.cache and filters.yaml file in my hidden .cpanel directory. Are either of these the file I would want to edit? Do I need to edit both of them, or can I just edit one? The filters.cache seems a lot more manageable than the filters.yaml file.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Jewdebega

    Jewdebega Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank you, Michael.

    I think because I have a shared host (multiple website on same account), I have to use the account-level filtering for the master log-in, which would be the two filter files I posted earlier.

    Just for clarification, based on one of your comments from the link you provided, it seems as though I need to edit the .yaml file and delete the .cache file. Is that correct?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, that is correct. However, I suggest moving the .cache file (e.g. file.cache.backup) instead of deleting it.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice