The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Account not suspending

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Metro2, Dec 8, 2007.

  1. Metro2

    Metro2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Account not suspending - resolved

    I have suspended an account via WHM, but the web site for the acount still displays just fine (instead of showing the suspended page).

    Has this happened to anyone else here?
     
    #1 Metro2, Dec 8, 2007
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2007
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Yes, this happens sometimes. Try un-suspending the account first ( althought its not suspended ) and then try suspending again.

    jay
     
  3. ToddShipway

    ToddShipway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Check to make sure the account isn't exceeding their disk quota as well.
     
  4. Danny_T

    Danny_T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Is suspending not checking disk qouta before the actual suspending?
    If no space left, i need to see critical email warning messages. Because a 3rdparty Billing software is suspending accounts overhere...
     
  5. Metro2

    Metro2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the replies, this is what I've tried and still no luck:

    - Ususpend / Re-suspend in WHM
    - /scripts/fixquotas (to make sure customer disk space is reported properly and not full)
    - /scripts/suspendacct username
    - /scripts/upcp --force

    So far nothing works.

    I don't run any automated billing software, it's a pretty straight-forward CP 11 box.

    WHM 11.11.0 cPanel 11.15.0-R18264
    REDHAT 4 i686 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0
    Two Woddcrest 5130's
    4GB RAM
    250GB SATA
    CSF/LFD
    Mailscanner
     
  6. Metro2

    Metro2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well, this little mystery is solved and it's kind of funny...

    The customer that owned the site in question has a lot of sites and has a webmaster who handles all the tech stuff for him. Well, apparently his webmaster made the decision, without telling the owner of the site, to move the site to a different hosting company a couple days ago, so I guess that's why my suspension had no affect LOL!

    I just talked to the owner on the phone and he is not happy about it. He said "I love your hosting service and have never had a problem with it; I have no idea why ***** would have moved the site to anyone else, I'll speak to him today". He's going to ask his webmaster wtf and then change the domain's nameservers back to us since the account is still fully in-tact on the server.

    I thought the whole thing seemed rather odd, since he's been a customer since 2004. I understand that some people just don't know how to handle this stuff and so they hire someone to handle their sites for them, but for the webmaster to move the site without telling him? Wow...

    So anyways, yeah, it's kinda hard to suspend an account that's resolving to a different server LOL.

    Thanks for the replies, and sorry if I wasted anyone's time on this. Chalking this up to another lesson learned - when in doubt, dnsreport ;-)
     
  7. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    LoL.. classic..


    Strange that his webmaster would pay for service out of his own pocket? Perhaps a buddy in the loop somewhere.
     
  8. markfrompf

    markfrompf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Wow, funny story. This has happened to me once or twice... :)
     
  9. Metro2

    Metro2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm thinking more along the lines of *affiliate* rather than buddy. 10 to 1 this "webmaster" has an affiliate account over there and permission/access to the customer's info for billing and hosting stuff, and found a way to make a little extra cash. A little double-take action lol...
    The actual customer himself was baffled that his subscription had been cancelled with me and a new one started elsewhere. Gonna be fun to see how this pans out...
     
  10. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Sounds like its time for a new webmaster, LOL
     
Loading...

Share This Page