The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Account only, no Public_html

Discussion in 'Security' started by keat63, Jun 21, 2016.

  1. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've created an account on my dedcicated server, that I wish to utilise to upload a daily works backup.
    When creating an account on whm, it requires a domain name, so I made something up, with my 2 initials as the tld.
    Now I can freely upload via SFTP my daily backup.
    I've removed the mail directory, public_html directory and public_ftp directory.
    As there will be me, and me only that requires access to this, I've no requirements for any web site or asscociated services. Pure and simple ftp only.

    Could I do more to keep this secure and invisible ?
    Could I remove all DNS entries maybe leaving just FTP ?

    Was there an easier way to do this ?
     
  2. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :),

    If you want to use this account only for the FTP backup then there is no need to create cPanel account through WHM. Just add user on your server with the useradd command and setup the password, After that you can use that user login details for the FTP backup.
     
  3. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can this not be done via the WHM gui ?
     
  4. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :),

    NO. You can not create it through WHM. You need to login your server through SSH.
     
  5. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I looked at the linux documentation but found it very confusing.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You can use the following commands to manually create a user:

    Code:
    adduser username
    passwd username
    Keep in mind this user is not manageable through cPanel/WHM.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page